Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This recipe has the potential to be a good one, but the wine sauce was thin and strongly tasted of wine. You could not taste anything else but the wine. Next time, I will replace most of the wine with chicken stock and thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch or flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Good stuff! Everything went well as I was preparing this recipe. Step #3 says to pour out remaining bacon fat...I didn't have any left over. Actually I had to add a tablespoon of evoo to finish frying my chicken (no big deal). Then before I added the spinach I put 1 T of butter in the pan and sauted 2 big cloves of garlic. Then I immediately added the "wine" (I used chicken broth instead because I didn't have any wine)and the spinach. I used a whole bag of baby spinach and it was the right amount. My husband liked it, my 3 little girls liked it (5 year old kept asking for more cilantro (spinach!) with her chicken!) and I liked it. The sauce is very thin (no big deal to me). I can't wait to email the recipe to my sisters and mother-in-law! Thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I used cream of chicken soup in lieu of heavy cream, but this recipe was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My whole family loved this. It was quick, easy and delicious. Only changes I made were seasoning the flour with salt, pepper and paprika and using half & half instead of cream. Thickened sauce with a little Wondra in water. I may use double the spinach next time, as we all love spinach. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a 5 star with the following changes: added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the flour, and minced garlic and chopped green onions to the pan just before adding the wine. Also cooked the sauce uncovered to help thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really, really good! I used cream of chicken instead of the heavy cream and it seems to have turned out fine. I also used turkey bacon, and possibly because of that didn't have any extra bacon grease with which to cook the chicken--no big deal, just added some olive oil. My only suggestion is that you don't have to use that much flour--one cup or one and a half cups would have been enough for the amount of chicken given. I also added some garlic and salt and pepper to the flour before coating the chicken. I served it with green beans, parmesan-garlic roasted potatoes and the rest of the bottle of Chardonnay I used to cook with. I think I might try this again with potatoes instead of chicken, and use it as a side dish and serve with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vayerly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
best dinner my husband has ever had. will try it with pheasant too. easy and elegant- put the spinach on the plate first -chicken on top- looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was wonderful! Never mind the fact that I took the chicken out of the pan, put it on paper towels, went out to throw away trash and came back in to find that the dog had counter surfed and eaten one of our chickens! We ended up splitting the remaining piece, but it was wonderful! I topped with tomato slices and parm cheese when I put them back into the pan, and our only complaint was against the klepto dog! I'll certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
It actually took a little longer than I anticipated, but I was doing other things at the same time, so that could be why. Anyway, it was very good- my entire family loved it. I also added a can of mushrooms to it. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk instead of the heavy cream(I do this in all recipes that call for cream). Very good! I made campanelle and mixed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Normally I avoid anything with heavy cream AND bacon, but I had both on hand and gave this a try. How can you go wrong with this combination of ingrediants? This is a fabulous recipe (I used a pinot gregio)! It is so fast, so easy, and so delicious. As for the ugly duckling - it really didn't look that bad, just make sure you don't cook the spinach to death. Thanks, Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States