Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I prepare this for lunch today. The recipe is good, but it needs a little work. I read the reviews so I decided to use chicken broth instead of white wine. The result was the sauce was in need of something else. I will add 1 tablespoon of cherry next time. I think the bacon bites do not mix well with the texture of the dish. My husband thinks the same. I will skip it next time. The resulting sauce is too thin. I recommend adding a little more flour to thick it. I had no problem with the presentation. It was beautiful. But I need to work a little bit in the flavor. I think with the extra cherry it will be a winner. My daughter loved it (and she is a though reviewer), except for the bacon bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kbvmcrae
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was easy and good! I made a few slight modifications. I cubed the chicken before dredging it in flour. I also found that 1 cup of wine was too much for me, I wanted a thicker sauce. Last substitution was that I used the new Philadelphia cooking cream instead of heavy cream. I served it with spaghetti noodles as well and it was d-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KateRBels
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We loved this and couldn't get enough!! I tossed the whole thing with angel hair pasta and let it sit off of the burner for a few minutes before I served it and the sauce thickened quite nicely! I used a Riesling wine (which I had open already) which gave it a sweet flavor and due to a defrosting mixup only 2 chicken breasts instead of 4, cut into strips so there was plenty for the two of us. The chicken itself was delicious and got a nice little crispiness to it, so I left it out until the last possible minute so it wouldn't get too soggy. It really had a light taste considering the ingredients (especially since I didn't have enough bacon grease in the pan so I added butter to cook the chicken, eek!), and next time I may omit the bacon altogether. It was tasty, but wasn't necessary. I was told I need to make this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateRBels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Neesy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe, I added mushrooms and cambells creamy chicken soup and it was just awesome!!! It is a great recipe and very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neesy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this last night, with only minor technical changes, and my partner and I both loved it. I added spices to the flour (garlic powder, italian herb seasoning, salt, pepper) and left the chicken breasts whole, cooked them a little bit longer. I reduced the wine with the spinach, added the cream, and then threw in the chicken breasts and bacon at the last to heat up. Looked and tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
A good meal best served over rice. I used one can of chicken broth instead of wine, some refrigerated bacon bits instead of bacon, and 10 oz frozen spinach. 10 oz was too much; 3-5 oz would have been plenty. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbonini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
So, Graham just said to me "you need to make this every night for the next 20 years." :) Music to my ears....he also added his taste buds are having a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of wine and used a little bit of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken...everyone loved it even my 5 year old! He told me this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie
Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great recipe, used milk instead of cream and half the chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
need to reduce wine with remaining bacon grease- then add spinach. NO CHEESE?? I added fresh shredded parm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States