Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great idea, but needs help. The flavors are wonderful together, but the execution is why it doesn't present well. Remove wilted spinach from pan, add wine - try extra dry Vermouth btw, and then add cream OR substitute non-fat liquid cream substitute (Land-O-Lakes) that's been mixed with 2 tbsp of corn starch to thicken it. Arrange chicken on platter with spinach on top and then pour sauce over all. This recipe also benefits greatly from some onion being between removal of spinach and addition of wine. Also, try a small amount of grated swiss cheese, about 1/4 cup or less, to top of the finished result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
That was good and relatively easy (better if you pre-cook the bacon at breakfast to streamline dinner time) - a little parmesan cheese sprinkled over everything at the end was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mississippimarion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great love it didnt change a thing aside from doubling it !!! served with homemade mashed (sauce was delicous over them) and fresh from the garden green beans def in my book now !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
It was a tasty recipe. Given that it was a little "saucy", it might go well on top of a pasta, such as fettuccini, or linguini. Also, the next time we make this recipe, we are going to double the amount of bacon it calls for. It just did not seem to be enough on it when we served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Really? I had high hopes for this one, sadly, I was disappointed. You would think all these ingredients would come together well, but they just don't in this recipe. Try Chicken Carbonnara from this site, way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Grteat recipe. We ate this the first night and it was really good, but then I had some leftovers the next day, and I couldn't get enough. It's a good thing there was only a little left, or I would have really pigged on it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Great dish to serve for guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
very bland... not my fave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I had to make a few substitutions: milk & butter for the heavy cream, frozen spinach for fresh. But WOW this was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin' Newbie
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I like this recipe and will make it again. However the picture gave me the idea to make it into a pasta dish so that's what I did. I cut the bacon up before frying. I also wilted the spinach in a different pan because I wanted to use the bacon grease to fry the chicken which added unbelievable flavor! I also chose to add some minced garlic at this point and cooked it at the tail end of the bacon. I cut the chix in pieces and then put flour and seasonings in a plastic bag, dumped all the chix in there and just shook it until coated. When I laid the chix in the bacon grease I had to add some olive oil as there wasn’t even of the bacon grease left over. I took the chix out when done and covered. Then I added the wine scrapping up any pieces, added the wilted spinach and heavy cream. Then I added all that (along with the chix I had set aside earlier) to cooked pasta. Delicious! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because while it was an excellent recipe I felt I really had to doctor it up to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States