Spinach Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I loved this recipe! Healthy & meat could be added, but I didn't miss it a bit. It was a great way to use up most of the pound of spinach I had. The cream cheese was a nice change up in the sauce! I did add garlic, diced onion, salt & some Italian seasoning, and it was great! I had some cold for breakfast just now, and the flavors still held up well. I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo Fraser
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I read all of the reviews, both good and bad... And I really like it. It was a hit with the family I cook for. What I did differently was while the tomatoes were heating, I added the cream cheese to that, rather than directly to the pasta, so it melted into the tomatoes. I doubled the cream cheese, and did not add the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Fraser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My 3 boys loved it. Even the picky husband who doesn't like trying my new recipes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Crabbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This turned out great . Very easy to make and my hubby loved it. I skipped the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any . I added turkey kielbasa and low fat philly cream cheese ... About 5 tbl spoons and added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was really good. My whole family liked it and that's saying something because not only are they picky eaters, but they don't like spinach. The only change I made was I added 1/2 teaspoon of basil to the sauce after reading the comments. There wasn't too much sauce in it and there wasn't too little. It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I went completely left field with this recipe and used a bunch of different ingredients and didn't even really follow the recipe at all! I started off with a can of tomato sauce, seasoning it with minced garlic and dried onion (we'd used the last onion the night before). Then I drained then added a can of regular stewed tomatoes. I added some Italian seasoning and black pepper to taste. The sauce was more saucy than creamy at this point, but when I added Alfredo sauce and simmered it a bit it thickened up without any tomato paste. I also had no fresh spinach in the house so I used frozen spinach. I thawed it first and then drained it and tossed it in. I added a tiny bit of nutmeg at the end and the crushed red pepper at the end. I finally used gluten free shells--my mother is allergic to gluten, but all in all, it was DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again with fresh ingredients, mushrooms and chicken, but I HIGHLY recommend Alfredo sauce. My mother's only complaint was that it didn't have meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe needs a lot of help... I love the idea of a creamy sauce & a tomato sauce, but the results were disappointing and bland. If I make it again I would use twice as much spinach & saute it with lots of garlic, onion, basil, oregano, and the red pepper flakes. Also, if you use a low fat cream cheese you will need a little more & a splash of milk to make it creamy. I do see potential here, but as is it's not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
LOL! My husband did NOT like the way this looked, but he tried it and he did enjoy the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Skowronek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
One of my favorite recipes to make and so easy! I only made two changes: I doubled the cream cheese and used 6 oz. of spinach instead of 4. Also I use whole-wheat pasta. This recipe is wonderful, I love the contrast of flavors between the red pepper and the nutmeg. Even the leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States