Spinach Veggie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I think I am going to bring it to my next family gathering. The hot sauce gave it just the right kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
My husband and I made this recipe together this evening. I thought it turned out well and enjoyed it. But, unfortunately he did not. He said it was much too bland, no taste at all. We followed the recipe to a tee. Maybe I can make it again for us in a year with a little added something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe has potential. Things I don't like: 1.) This recipe assumes you are using a particular type of rice. I won't work if you are using quick cook white rice or a longer cook brown or jasmine rice. Maybe it would be more beneficial to list the amount of cooked rice needed rather than give the instructions for cooking the rice. 2.) For a dish with so much butter, I think this dish was a little bland. I think adding a couple of different herbs and a liberal amount of salt and pepper make it a great recipe. 3.) Less butter. The butter isn't necessary. I usually skip it without consequence. The things I do like: 1.) Lots of veggies. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms. I am sure others can be added without taking away from the essence of the casserole. 2.) Spinach and cheese! The combination of ingredients is appealing to me, spinach being key. It is also flexible. The corn, bell peppers, and onions can be substituted with whatever you have (given it is not too overwhelming).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I used cheddar instead of swiss, and an orange pepper for a more subtle pepper flavor. Nice colorful presentation. I don't even like rice, and I had seconds of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
now one of my favorite side dishes. who ever submitted this, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
We didn't think this was too great. Too many onions and not much flavor. We usually eat leftovers for days, but I had to throw these out because no one wanted them. We did use Cheddar Cheese instead of Swiss, so maybe that made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I tried this recipe, although I altered it a lot. But it still turned out great. I used spiral pasta instead of rice and marble cheese, along with some other changes. Would definetly make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
My husband loved this!!! I used Gouda instead of Swiss (what I had on hand) and it tasted great. Also... used a little more cheese then it said... glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I cut this recipe in half in order to make this. There is only my daughter and I and she is only 2. I would have had leftovers for weeks if I made the full amount. Cutting it in half may have affected the proportions to this recipe. I found that there simply was not enough rice in this dish. It was mostly veggies and cheese sauce. Based on what I had in the house I had to use cheddar cheese instead of swiss. I didn't find that there was too much cheese, I found instead that maybe there wasn't enough. I used a full cup in the cheese sauce and then another 1/4 cup (I made a mistake and forgot to reserve some.) on top. I didn't find that it was too cheesy. I also used fresh spinach, not frozen. I probably used more spinach then I would have if I had just opened a package of frozen and tossed it in. I also didn't use the bell pepper because I didn't have any. I didn't have any hot sauce but made up for that by using cayenne pepper instead. All in all it is a good recipe. Next time I'll simply increase the rice and cheese proportions and maybe try and get my hands on some swiss cheeese. Its hard to find where I live. BTW...for those that aren't true vegetarians adding chopped up chicken or turkey (leftover preferrably) would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
EXCELLENT! JUST EXCELLENT! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENTLY WAS USE GOUDA INSTEAD OF SWISS SINCE I HAD NO SWISS AND I USED BUTTERMILK INSTEAD OF REGULAR MILK. IT WAS CHEESY AND CREAMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States