Spinach Veggie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe has potential. Things I don't like: 1.) This recipe assumes you are using a particular type of rice. I won't work if you are using quick cook white rice or a longer cook brown or jasmine rice. Maybe it would be more beneficial to list the amount of cooked rice needed rather than give the instructions for cooking the rice. 2.) For a dish with so much butter, I think this dish was a little bland. I think adding a couple of different herbs and a liberal amount of salt and pepper make it a great recipe. 3.) Less butter. The butter isn't necessary. I usually skip it without consequence. The things I do like: 1.) Lots of veggies. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms. I am sure others can be added without taking away from the essence of the casserole. 2.) Spinach and cheese! The combination of ingredients is appealing to me, spinach being key. It is also flexible. The corn, bell peppers, and onions can be substituted with whatever you have (given it is not too overwhelming).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
This is a good recipe. A great way to jazz up spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was delicious! I did need to change it up a little, though. I used cannelini beans in place of the corn, and I always use brown whole grain rice. Also, I didn't have Swiss cheese, so I used mozzerella and a little muenster I had.I topped it with some feta cheese. Extremely flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Filer, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I did think that this was lacking a little in the flavor department BUT my 3 year old daughter loved it and kept asking for more (she clearly didnt know the amount of veggies she was consuming.) I would make it again but I would add a lot more seasoning (garlic, etc etc.) Also I made my rice on the stove top but next time I would use my rice cooker. I also subbed the water for chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
EXCELLENT! JUST EXCELLENT! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENTLY WAS USE GOUDA INSTEAD OF SWISS SINCE I HAD NO SWISS AND I USED BUTTERMILK INSTEAD OF REGULAR MILK. IT WAS CHEESY AND CREAMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
Good recipe for a change of pace. It cut nicely and re-heated well for lunches. A bit heavy on the cheese... if I make it again I'll cut the cheese in half. This is not a quick recipe to whip up after work. I used 4 different pans in preparing it! (rice, cooking veggies, cooking butter/flour/milk/cheese, and casserole) Also, the "paste" never thickened, but it worked nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Pretty good, but my kids were not really fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I think it would be very bland as is. I added extra garlic and salt and a couple tablespoons of fresh rosemary, chopped, into the onion mixture. I also added cheddar cheese and cream cheese into the cheese mixture. It was very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMRINNH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
There was a little too much spinach, and the corn seemed out of place. It also was a little flavorless, and I even added extra cheese. Edible, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt have all of the ingredients, but I did have most of them. Instead of just the onion and red pepper I used about half of one of those frozen stir fry pepper packages and seasoned it, which took care of the "blandness" everyone is commenting on. Freshly grated parmasean cheese compliments the dish as well. Easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States