Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very good. We cooked the tortellini separate, as some had suggested, and added it about 5-10 minutes before serving. We also used fresh spinach vs. frozen, and added some thinly sliced carrot for color and flavor. Very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Super easy to make! I did put extra broth in though because I like it a little more liquid-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katy barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Good soup! Followed the recipe exactly, except sauted some ginger and onion in the beginning. Might add some ground sausage to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oliveland
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is the first recipe I ever made off this website. I'm not sure what took me so long to review it, because this has become a household favorite! A very quick and simple soup, that is hearty and filling. Perfect for a chilly fall day or a snowy night. I've made some minor adjustments over the years that I think really add to existing flavors of the soup. Firstly I add some chunky veggies to the soup, as that is how I like it (usually carrots, onion, celery, and zucchini), then I crush 2-4 cloves of garlic into it (depending on amount I am making). I add the spinach in the last few minutes of cooking, otherwise the spinach gets soggy and slimy, this way it comes out perfectly blanched and tender. I use the rainbow (cheese) tortellini to add some color to the dish, and then sprinkle grated parm over it and top it with red pepper. The melted cheese and pepper really kick up the broth a notch! I wish it was possible to give this recipe more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
so good! I took other's advice and sauteed onions and garlic before adding broth. Also added carrots and fresh spinach, and kept the tortellini separate until time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I make this with chicken tortellini. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missjones
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe...I made with the following additions: 1) browned 1 lb. sausage with some garlic 2) Drained and added 4 cups chicken broth and 1/4 cup white wine 3) Added 4 carrots sliced into coins 4) Added an entire bag of fresh spinach leaves 4) Added grated Parmesan cheese 5) Also, I boiled the tortellini separately and added right before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a great soup, i didnt have basil so i used oregano instead, and also some ground italian herbs and seasoning, as well as red pepper flakes to add a bit of spice, then i squeezed some lemon juice in and tossed julienned carrots in. It was delish, oh and i used spinach tortellini with cheese filling and fresh spinach instead of frozen .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doraluz
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a very good meal BUT we used fresh spinach instead and the dry tortellini....which was much more delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! I feel a little guilty not making this exactly as advertised...but I cooked the tortellini separate, baked up some chicken breasts (later diced prior to adding to the soup, and added a few diced carrots and mushrooms. I did not have any frozen spinach on hand, so I chopped up some fresh leaves. A few readers mentioned adding lemon pepper, but I thought the lemon was a little too strong. Overall, a nice soup with lots of add-ins possible (as evidenced by all of us that can't follow the original recipe on try one!) :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States