Spinach Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Really good. The only thing I would change is the amount of Spinach. Next time I make this I would cut the Spinach amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
As written, not superb. I also added two carrots and three stalks of celery along with garlic, all of which I sauteed prior to adding the other ingredients. I then added the chicken broth, waited a bit, then added the spinach. I used frozen spinach straight from the package. I cooked the tortellini separately. The soup looked like really wet veggies and didn't taste like much so I decided to add a cube of chicken bouillon. That made the difference! It turned out to be a nice broth-soup. I would recommend, as many others have, to add the tortellini just before serving (after cooking separately). Also, I would add more broth/less spinach the next time and maybe just one carrot. Quite good with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was good, with a little substitution. First, I used spinach tortellini. I used fresh spinach, not frozen. I also added some white wine and some chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
really good soup- But the tortellini seems to not fit well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I can see that this recipe would be a quick meal, but for me it's just as quick using my own broth (Brown Chicken Stock, from this site) and healthier. I simmered some chicken pieces (for protein and a balanced meal) and carrots untill tender & cooked it in the broth, added some fresh garlic instead of powder and for the spinach, (I used fresh not frozen -it's better and just as quick as frozen) I added it to the last minute prior to serving and grated some fresh parmesan cheese on top! great this way! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good but yet lacking something at the same time. I couldn't imagine making this with only two cans of broth--I used four and it was just about right. I added a couple of cloves of minced garlic, grated carrot and a bay leaf to broth and let simmer for about 10-12 min. Then I added spinach, then tortellini & simmered about 10 min. It was good but I feel it needs something else to make it really pop. It is good for something quick and easy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A super and easy quick soup. Elegant, too. It would be great for a first course for any dinner. I used 1/2 onion and 1 clove a garlic and sauteed first before adding broth. Boiled then added fresh spinach. Plus, I took other suggestions and cooked the tortellini seperate and then added them in. Omited both garlic powder and basil and it came out fantastic. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
When my pre-teen boys ask for this soup repeatedly, you know somebody really likes it! Quick and surprisingly hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Like many other reviewers, and many other cooks for that matter I made do with what I have, and made some adjustments. I sauteed fresh spinach and garlic in a little olive oil instead of using frozen. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The amount of spinach used was overwhelming. Maybe if I'd used fresh, and less, it would have been better. This isn't something my family enjoyed that much. It was "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States