Spinach Tomato Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I really like this recipe, but the second time I made it, I used frozen spinach, I doubled the amount of spinach, and I added three chicken and spinach sausages. Next time, I'll add more sausage and maybe some fresh tomatoes-- it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have the diced tomatoes with onions and garlic on hand, so I used a plain can of diced tomatoes and added in 1/8 teaspoon onion powder and used 4 cloves of garlic. Next time I would use 5 or more cloves. I followed the recipe exactly for the remaining ingredients - a very satisfying meal that tasted like I spent a lot more time in the kitchen cooking it than I actually did! It is definitely a quick and easy meal. This would also be great if you changed up the pasta - my kids are not huge fans of tortellini so next time I might try penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My husband loved this! He said it tasted just like a dish from an italian restaurant. The only thing I changed was I used broccoli instaed of spinich. I'm so glad I found this..its in my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Used mild rotel and frozen spinach cooked to thaw. Substituted 1 cup half and half and 1/2 cup milk. If you like a little heat give it a try. Best dish I've made in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made this twice and the only change I made was to double the sauce recipe. Very tasty and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made this for my family and they all loved it! However I did add a little bit of extra garlic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Pretty basic tomato cream pasta. Kids ate it, added red pepper flakes to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. Was wonderful. Husband finished everything. Served with a side of french bread. Made a few changes as others have done. Used 2 cups Spinach and doubled the amount of garlic and cheese. Added mushrooms as well. Used just plain diced tomatoes as I didn't have any other. Tasted just like what we have ordered at Italian restaurants. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
5 star just the way it is. Variences to this recipe should be tried to custom make it to your family's preferences. I made it this time by sautéing Italian sausages removed from casings with onion and garlic. No need for salt/pepper depending on your meat choice. I then added a 28 oz can of San Marano whole tomatoes which I broke up in the pan. (I was told by an Italian chef to never use canned diced tomatoes because exposing the tomatoes to a blade before canning reduces the quality and taste). I brought this to a boil. When the tortellini was almost done, I added 3/4 cup heavy cream ( no need to thicken) plus a whole bunch of kale chopped and 12 large fresh basil leaves chopped from my garden as well as the Parmesan cheese. Spinach is just as good but I ran out of it. When the kale and basil were just wilted, I used a slotted spoon to put the tortellini right into the sauce. I took It off the burner, covered it for 5 minutes to let it all blend. Healthy, delicious, and definitely restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love this! I did add more cream and instead of the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I used diced tomatoes with freshly minced garlic and onion. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States