Spinach Tomato Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Oh my, but this was good. I did make a few changes (of course). My husband expects MEAT on his dinner plate, so I squeezed the innards out of a couple of large-ish hot Italian sausages and browned it up in a tiny bit of EVOO. Then I added some sliced fresh crimini mushrooms that needed to be used up. My canned tomatoes were the plain, common garden variety, so I threw in some chopped onion and minced garlic. Deglazed the pan with some white wine and used more spinach than called for. An entire bunch, actually. The DH has placed a moritorium on me buying anything new to stuff into my over-burdened freezer, so I had to use a bag of frozen three-cheese ravioli instead of the tortellini. But hey, it's the same thing, only flat, right? Also I didn't have any whole milk, so I had to use non-fat, but it didn't seem to hurt anything. This was fantastic! The sausage and mushrooms gave the sauce a nice beigey color. I'm sure it would have been prettier with the tortellini, but I had to make do. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought this was very good. I did not use heavy cream, I used FF milk and used a bit of cornstarch to it so the sauce would thicken slightly. I also used fresh basil. I think that gives the dish a nice bright taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this for company last night and it was a huge success! I added diced chicken breasts sauteed with garlic, basil, and rosemary in olive oil. For the sauce, I sauteed sliced baby portabella mushrooms with onion and garlic which I added to the tomato mixture. I also added 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, instead of just 1/4 to the sauce - because really, you can never have enough cheese! It could use more spinach than the recipe calls for, so next time I'll make that change - but this was very wonderful and easy and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Altho I think this needed a lot more cheese, which I did add, we thought this recipe was delish! I also sauteed portabello mushrooms to add to the dish. Because we don't like soggy fresh spinach, I did not cook it in with the sauce, but tossed it in with the pasta at the very end jusy to wilt it. Enjoyed by my whole family Lela and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Lovely! Nice light flavor, although I did make some minor adjustments. I used a plain can of diced tomatoes, and doubled the minced garlic. I left out the onion. I think I would have been safe with even a little more garlic (but I really like garlic). Also, I used milk instead of heavy cream, which should help on the fat and calorie side. I prefer corn starch as a thickening agent (just be sure to cut the amount by half - you'd need twice as much flour to do the same job). I was impressed with the flavor of the sauce, and didn't notice too much of a pink tinge that turned off one reviewer. However, next time, I'll use fresh tomatoes, because I was kinda turned off by the flavor of the canned tomatoes. In all other respects a wonderful and simple dish that looks and tastes like it took forever! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was delicious!! I followed the recipe almost exactly- the only difference was I used italian diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano because I didnt have the one specified. Also I used 5 cloves of fresh garlic and minced it up. I think it could have used even more than that. Otherwise I followed everything and it turned out wonderful, My hubby loved it and my 1 year old ate a good amount of it too! It was a good way to sneak a veggie into him. I recommend this to everyone to try and will definatly make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is a really nice, easy recipe that looks beautiful and tastes better than I've gotten in some restaurants. I basically followed the recipe, but had no fresh spinach, so used half a box of frozen. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I have never received so many compliments on a meal before! It was a little runny, but I seemed to be the only one who thought so. I think next time I might try adding some shrimp to this, everyone said it tasted as though it already had it in it anyway. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My family and I loved this dish...my one year old kept asking for more! It was so simple, and it is delicious. I actually didn't have any cream on hand, but I had everything else, so I just used evaporated milk in place of the cream and it turned out great. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I used this sauce recipe over bowties as I'm not a fan of tortellini and it was awesome!! My sauce was a little thin, but I used skim milk and light cream to help with calories/fat. Next time I would add more spinach and and a tiny bit more garlic.****update - it goes great with gnoochi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States