Spinach Tomato Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I really like this recipe, but after making it the first time, I did change it slightly. I like to add at least three chicken, spinach and garlic sausage links, double the spinach (to two cups) and add another can of petite diced tomatoes that I drained. I find that frozen spinach works just fine-- I just thaw it in the microwave and use paper towels to take out the extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have the diced tomatoes with onions and garlic on hand, so I used a plain can of diced tomatoes and added in 1/8 teaspoon onion powder and used 4 cloves of garlic. Next time I would use 5 or more cloves. I followed the recipe exactly for the remaining ingredients - a very satisfying meal that tasted like I spent a lot more time in the kitchen cooking it than I actually did! It is definitely a quick and easy meal. This would also be great if you changed up the pasta - my kids are not huge fans of tortellini so next time I might try penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My husband loved this! He said it tasted just like a dish from an italian restaurant. The only thing I changed was I used broccoli instaed of spinich. I'm so glad I found this..its in my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Used mild rotel and frozen spinach cooked to thaw. Substituted 1 cup half and half and 1/2 cup milk. If you like a little heat give it a try. Best dish I've made in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made this twice and the only change I made was to double the sauce recipe. Very tasty and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Pretty basic tomato cream pasta. Kids ate it, added red pepper flakes to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. Was wonderful. Husband finished everything. Served with a side of french bread. Made a few changes as others have done. Used 2 cups Spinach and doubled the amount of garlic and cheese. Added mushrooms as well. Used just plain diced tomatoes as I didn't have any other. Tasted just like what we have ordered at Italian restaurants. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
5 star just the way it is. Variences to this recipe should be tried to custom make it to your family's preferences. I made it this time by sautéing Italian sausages removed from casings with onion and garlic. No need for salt/pepper depending on your meat choice. I then added a 28 oz can of San Marano whole tomatoes which I broke up in the pan. (I was told by an Italian chef to never use canned diced tomatoes because exposing the tomatoes to a blade before canning reduces the quality and taste). I brought this to a boil. When the tortellini was almost done, I added 3/4 cup heavy cream ( no need to thicken) plus a whole bunch of kale chopped and 12 large fresh basil leaves chopped from my garden as well as the Parmesan cheese. Spinach is just as good but I ran out of it. When the kale and basil were just wilted, I used a slotted spoon to put the tortellini right into the sauce. I took It off the burner, covered it for 5 minutes to let it all blend. Healthy, delicious, and definitely restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love this! I did add more cream and instead of the diced tomatoes with garlic and onion, I used diced tomatoes with freshly minced garlic and onion. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShanYoung
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Oh my goodness I am eating it right now with some French bread for dipping...AMAZING!! And so easy! Thank u so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States