Spinach Tomato Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My vegetarian husband and I loved this meal! Many recipes brag about being quick & easy and this really was. It's a definite keeper. You could easily add/remove ingredients, but there is no need. It is delicious just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmnovak3
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This tortellini turned out excellent! However, I modified the recipe quite a bit based on my preferences and what I had in the fridge. For starters, I avoid canned foods when at all possible, and I had fresh veggies on hand, so I added halved grape tomatoes, additional fresh garlic, and diced vidalia onion instead of the canned diced tomatoes. I also added a cubed portobello mushroom cap for some additional flavor. Additionally, even though I had spinach on hand, I opted for arugula because it tends to add a nice peppery flavor. I didn't have dried basil, so I added a dried Italian herb blend instead. Furthermore, I only had 2% milk, so I used 1.5 cups of milk instead of the half milk/half heavy cream concoction - better for the waistline, yet it thickened up nicely! As far as I can tell, substituting all milk didn't compromise the flavor or the thickness of the sauce one bit, perhaps because I used shredded parm instead of grated parm. Despite several changes, I absolutely loved this dish and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Quick, fancy-looking, and delicious! For once, I avoided mods (due to repeated teasing from DBF). I could only find plain diced tomatoes, so I used three medium cloves of garlic total and minced a little less than 1/4 of an onion. I used shredded parm cheese, as we don't keep grated. This was a great way to use the end of a bag of spinach. (I don't know if it matters, but I used dried tortellini instead of refrigerated. Also, we only have whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I've made this a few times now, as written except using half and half instead of heavy cream. My family loves the taste but the sauce is pretty thin. Maybe it is because I didn't use cream or maybe because I didn't drain the tomatoes? Anyway it makes a ton of sauce for 16 oz. of pasta and I always forget that. I usually end up cooking more pasta to use up the leftover sauce. Tonight I added mushrooms. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
adding this to the rotation thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Anytime I rate and write about a recipe, I make it according to the recipe that has been provided by the cook who posted the recipe. I see no point in rating a recipe that has been modified, and is no longer the original recipe. If, after making the recipe in its original form, I feel that it could use modifications, then I do so, when I make it another time. ~So, with that said, I rate this recipe 4 stars. It was a very good and light meal. I was able to find the can Diced Tomatoes with Garlic and Onion, in my local grocery store. The sauce was flavorful and light, yet clung to the pasta. For days that I want a more hearty meal, I will add crumbled cooked sausage. I will make this again. I will also share this original recipe with my sister, who is a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I gave this recipe 4 stars because the sauce was a little bland. It needs another spice, but I can't think of which one(s). The next time that I make this dish, I am going to add Italian sausage, it definitely needs some type of meat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was delicious!!! This is what I did. I used 1 package of cheese and garlic tortellini, 1-14.5oz can plain diced tomatoes, 1/2 chopped red onion, 6-7 small cloves of chopped garlic, salt, pepper, dried basil, 2 cups fresh chopped spinach, 2 tbsp flour, 1-1/2 cups half n half, 1/2 cup shaved parmesan cheese, and 2 cooked chopped chicken breasts. Tortellini was set to boil in lightly salted water with about a tbsp olive oil. Meanwhile, I sauteed the onion and garlic together in oil until tender, then added diced tomatoes, salt, pepper, and dried basil. Once bubbling, I added spinach, and mixed together. When everything combined, I added the whisked together flour and half and half. I added parmesan cheese at this point. Let sauce thicken while I chopped chicken, and threw this in as well. The sauce thickened and became a light pink. I drained the tortellini, combined with sauce in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very Good!! Serve with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Yummy I used ravioli because it was all i had and the recipe was AMAZING! My husband loved it, I will def be making again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States