Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Thank you to all the reviewers on this one. I made their changes and this turned out wonderful. I increased the feta cheese, spinkled the inside of the fish with garlic powder. After they were rolled I added lemon pepper, subsituted the water for lemon juice and poured a litte lemon juice over the top of the fish. We live in Alaska so I subsituted halibut for flounder (just a bigger version of flounder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This was excellent and simple. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the spinach and mushroom mixture for some extra flavor...next time I will add more garlic and some salt and pepper. It's a great recipe, just needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
once again, I did substitutions, which turned out really great. instead of using flounder, I used tilapia. I also used quite a bit more mushrooms, feta & spinach. just a hint for anyone who's always used reg ol parmesan on their spaghetti. try using feta for a change. we won't ever again use parmesan on our spaghetti. it adds a totally new & different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Excellent!!! I added chopped tomato and per the reviews I added garlic, and probably 1/2 cup feta. I also coated the fish with mixture of bread crumbs, Paul Prudome Seafood Magic and Tony Cachere's creole seasoning. I covered it with lemon and butter. You must drain off the moisture from the stuffing mixture (I may even strain it next time) or you will have a mushy problem. I baked it longer than 20 minutes--maybe 30. It was so good--and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was good. I increased the amount of feta that i used to about 2.5 oz and I sauted my mushrooms with fresh garlic. I would also recommend seasoning the fish with season salt, paprika, pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe is only good if you season the fish. By itself the taste is nothing special. Also, 1 T. of feta is not enough. You need atleast 1/4 c. I agree with a previous reviewer that dredging the fish in breadcrumbs is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Very Quick and easy and best of all it tastes great. I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and some garlic powder and instead of using the fresh vegies, I used frozen spinach and canned mushrooms. Hubby really liked this alot.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This is a good dish as long as you season as you go along. I added herbs and spices to my filling and to my fish. I used more feta than called for and finished with a squeeze of lemon juice. Very nice Verona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was very easy to make and very light. But it was still satisfying. I used fat-free feta cheese. Next time I might season the fillets a bit before baking. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This is a great low-fat meal for anyone on diet. It is only 2 points for one stuffed fillet on WW. It is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States