Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe was great and easy to do. I didn't have Feta but used freshly grated parmesan and it still was good. I also seasoned the mushrooms with garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and basil. I used frozen spinach - cooked that on it's own first then blended it in with the mushrooms for a couple of minutes - grated the parmesan over the mushroom spinach mixture - heated it thoroughly then use to stuff the flounder. Once stuffed, I then sprinkled Italian style bread crumbs on top of the rolled flounder. Cooked as directed. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I added some cut up shrimp, diced almonds, pepper and garlic to the stuffing mixture and it was more tasty than following the orginal recipe. Also, I had some stuffing mixture left over that I put into small oven-safe soup bowls, covered with cheese and baked along with the fish. made for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OuterBanksTim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocracoke, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Really delicious!!! Put in twice as much feta as indicated for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I really liked how quick and easy this was to make. I did add some minced garlic to my spinach, and upped the feta. I also seasoned the fish with some pepper, but I didn't use salt since the feta is already so salty. I'll probably make this again, although I'm not sure if I'll use flounder again, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Not bad, but lacked flavor in spite of adding lemon/butter/salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Excellent!!! I added chopped tomato and per the reviews I added garlic, and probably 1/2 cup feta. I also coated the fish with mixture of bread crumbs, Paul Prudome Seafood Magic and Tony Cachere's creole seasoning. I covered it with lemon and butter. You must drain off the moisture from the stuffing mixture (I may even strain it next time) or you will have a mushy problem. I baked it longer than 20 minutes--maybe 30. It was so good--and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I had to compromise and use fish I had, which was Talapia. I thought it was good, but my kids didn't care much for the feta. Will make it again, just leave that out of theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
It was okay. It might have been my fish, but it turned out mushy. I added garlic, salt, and pepper to the fish and also to the filling. Instead of water I used lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I added basil, garlic, onion salt, pepper, oregano, and lemon juice; I thought it was still a bit bland but my parents thought it was perfect. Next time I'll add more spices (and feta, mmm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This dish was very yummy. I prepared it exactly as was called for (well I didn't measure I just threw together the ingredients) and I added garlic to the mixture. I also used blue cheese instead of feta. My whole family loved it. The only complaint I have is that the fish was a bit bland. I think it needed butter and salt on that top. Other than that, it was wondeful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States