Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Really good and easy. I followed the advice of other and used 1/4 cup feta for 3 fillets. Also sprinkled a mixture of bread crumbs, fresh garlic, onion powder, and lemon pepper on top. Plenty of flavor! It took MUCH longer to cook than 15 minutes- at least 25-30. Next time I'll uncover it for the last 5 minutes to crisp the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was very good and easy, although I changed a bunch of things from the original (as I usually do!) I used tilapia instead of flounder, which tasted good but was a bit hard to roll. I also added garlic to the spinach/mushroom mixture and added more feta than the recipe called for. (It's really important to squeeze that extra liquid out of the vegetables before adding the cheese.) Also, after reading reviews that it was soggy, I just cooked the fish in a glass baking pan - I didn't add extra water or cover with foil. I had potatoes in the oven at 400 so I cooked for about 15-17 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe, and so easy. I had grey sole instead. I sauteed mushrooms and spinach in olive oil with garlic and sprint onions and added feta cheese once the mixture cooled. I had some seasoning mix that I added to the fish, and sprinkled italian bread crumbs on top. The outcome looks like something out of a fine restaurant. Will absolutely prepare this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Era

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
If there were negative stars, I would give those!Even though I drained the fish twice while cooking it came out gooey. The fish tasted like paste. The spinach stuffing was good with a little seasoning and I will use the stuffing with rolled flank steak or something of the like, but I will never make this again. We didnt even eat it, threw it out. PASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was great! We used sole instead of flounder, it was hard to keep together but when cooked it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was so simple and really tasty! I made so many modifications but it was still good. I used frozen package spinach and mozzarella cheese since I didn't have feta or mushrooms. I also seasoned with lemon pepper, lemon juice, and garlic powder. I can't wait to try the orig. version of the recipe, but this one works well too! Served w/ white & veggie blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe was great and easy to do. I didn't have Feta but used freshly grated parmesan and it still was good. I also seasoned the mushrooms with garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and basil. I used frozen spinach - cooked that on it's own first then blended it in with the mushrooms for a couple of minutes - grated the parmesan over the mushroom spinach mixture - heated it thoroughly then use to stuff the flounder. Once stuffed, I then sprinkled Italian style bread crumbs on top of the rolled flounder. Cooked as directed. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I added some cut up shrimp, diced almonds, pepper and garlic to the stuffing mixture and it was more tasty than following the orginal recipe. Also, I had some stuffing mixture left over that I put into small oven-safe soup bowls, covered with cheese and baked along with the fish. made for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OuterBanksTim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocracoke, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Really delicious!!! Put in twice as much feta as indicated for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I really liked how quick and easy this was to make. I did add some minced garlic to my spinach, and upped the feta. I also seasoned the fish with some pepper, but I didn't use salt since the feta is already so salty. I'll probably make this again, although I'm not sure if I'll use flounder again, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States