Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious. I substituted the feta for gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I not really enjoy this recipe. It was ok but the fish tasted very bland even with the spices recomended. I even cooked it in lemon juice instead of with water but it created an odd soapy taste. The spinach,mushroom, and feta mix sauted with the garlic tasted very good but the fish ruined the taste of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We loved it. I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil with garlic, added more cheese, seasoned the fish with Webers lemon seasing for fish, and and threw some fresh sliced banana peppers from my garden on it just before serving before serving. Hubby and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was a really good base recipe. It needs more feta, I used about 3 ounces. I sauteed an onion and a little garlic with the mushrooms. I marinated my filets in a bit of fresh squeezed lemon juice, garlic, and salt and pepper for about 2 hours before I prepped. I also used lemon juice in the pan instead of water as suggested by another reviewer. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very good recipe, I took the advice of previous reviewers and made changes with the added spices. After dinner, I felt like I ate a healthy meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
my bf loved this and i just thought it was alright.. i had to deviate from the recipe bc all i had was red snapper.. didnt have feta and just used a cheddar/mozz cheese blend.. used frozen spinach instead of fresh.. added a clove of garlic and some minced onion.. lightly seasoned the fish with lemon pepper.. i think if i had marinated the fish i would have liked it more.. either way ty for a recipe that my bf couldn't get enough of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Now the end result will depend on where you get your fish and how fresh it is. I was lucky enough to pick up some very fresh local flounder from my local farmers market and it made this dish spectacular. Remember, if it smells like fish don't eat it. Fish is meant to smell like salt water if you can imagine that. It should have a very clean almost fresh scent that doesn't make you pull back or scrunch your nose upon taking a good whiff. I also recommend getting your hands on local spinach and mushrooms. I sautéed the sliced mushrooms for about five minutes with a tablespoon of butter and a nice sized garlic clove mined. I added the spinach,salt and fresh cracked pepper to the mushrooms and finished cooking it down. Afterward I drained the liquid from the pan and set it aside. I took the fish and soaked it in cold water for about five minutes. I took it out of the water and patted the filets down then rolled them over the mushroom spinach mixture. I used two toothpicks and actually baked the filets seam up. I couldn't fit all my veg in the filets so I stuffed the remaining mixture into the filets from each side making sure to pack the fish with the mushrooms and spinach mix. I saved a little of the butter from the sautéed pan and I poured that over each filet and then baked it following the recipe above. I served it with baked/broiled red potatoes and it was one of the best meals I've ever made. You'd pay a fortune for this at the beach. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Agree with the others, and realized off the bat that unseasoned fish would be bland. Added several cloves of minced garlic while I cooked the mushrooms, then sprinkled in some garlic powder when I added the fresh spinach. Seasoned the fish with a mixture of sea salt, thyme, and lemon peel, then substituted the water at the bottom of the pan for lemon juice. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious, but we did make 2 changes. I switched the feta cheese for ricotta, my husband doesn't care for feta. And I sprinkled the fillets with Old Bay seafood seasoning. I'm saving this one to my pinterest account.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
good heathy quick dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States