Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Thank you to all the reviewers on this one. I made their changes and this turned out wonderful. I increased the feta cheese, spinkled the inside of the fish with garlic powder. After they were rolled I added lemon pepper, subsituted the water for lemon juice and poured a litte lemon juice over the top of the fish. We live in Alaska so I subsituted halibut for flounder (just a bigger version of flounder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This was excellent and simple. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the spinach and mushroom mixture for some extra flavor...next time I will add more garlic and some salt and pepper. It's a great recipe, just needs a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
once again, I did substitutions, which turned out really great. instead of using flounder, I used tilapia. I also used quite a bit more mushrooms, feta & spinach. just a hint for anyone who's always used reg ol parmesan on their spaghetti. try using feta for a change. we won't ever again use parmesan on our spaghetti. it adds a totally new & different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Excellent!!! I added chopped tomato and per the reviews I added garlic, and probably 1/2 cup feta. I also coated the fish with mixture of bread crumbs, Paul Prudome Seafood Magic and Tony Cachere's creole seasoning. I covered it with lemon and butter. You must drain off the moisture from the stuffing mixture (I may even strain it next time) or you will have a mushy problem. I baked it longer than 20 minutes--maybe 30. It was so good--and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was good. I increased the amount of feta that i used to about 2.5 oz and I sauted my mushrooms with fresh garlic. I would also recommend seasoning the fish with season salt, paprika, pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe is only good if you season the fish. By itself the taste is nothing special. Also, 1 T. of feta is not enough. You need atleast 1/4 c. I agree with a previous reviewer that dredging the fish in breadcrumbs is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Very Quick and easy and best of all it tastes great. I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and some garlic powder and instead of using the fresh vegies, I used frozen spinach and canned mushrooms. Hubby really liked this alot.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This is a good dish as long as you season as you go along. I added herbs and spices to my filling and to my fish. I used more feta than called for and finished with a squeeze of lemon juice. Very nice Verona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was very easy to make and very light. But it was still satisfying. I used fat-free feta cheese. Next time I might season the fillets a bit before baking. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This is a great low-fat meal for anyone on diet. It is only 2 points for one stuffed fillet on WW. It is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States