Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe, and so easy. I had grey sole instead. I sauteed mushrooms and spinach in olive oil with garlic and sprint onions and added feta cheese once the mixture cooled. I had some seasoning mix that I added to the fish, and sprinkled italian bread crumbs on top. The outcome looks like something out of a fine restaurant. Will absolutely prepare this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Era

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
If there were negative stars, I would give those!Even though I drained the fish twice while cooking it came out gooey. The fish tasted like paste. The spinach stuffing was good with a little seasoning and I will use the stuffing with rolled flank steak or something of the like, but I will never make this again. We didnt even eat it, threw it out. PASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was great! We used sole instead of flounder, it was hard to keep together but when cooked it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was so simple and really tasty! I made so many modifications but it was still good. I used frozen package spinach and mozzarella cheese since I didn't have feta or mushrooms. I also seasoned with lemon pepper, lemon juice, and garlic powder. I can't wait to try the orig. version of the recipe, but this one works well too! Served w/ white & veggie blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe was great and easy to do. I didn't have Feta but used freshly grated parmesan and it still was good. I also seasoned the mushrooms with garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and basil. I used frozen spinach - cooked that on it's own first then blended it in with the mushrooms for a couple of minutes - grated the parmesan over the mushroom spinach mixture - heated it thoroughly then use to stuff the flounder. Once stuffed, I then sprinkled Italian style bread crumbs on top of the rolled flounder. Cooked as directed. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I added some cut up shrimp, diced almonds, pepper and garlic to the stuffing mixture and it was more tasty than following the orginal recipe. Also, I had some stuffing mixture left over that I put into small oven-safe soup bowls, covered with cheese and baked along with the fish. made for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OuterBanksTim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocracoke, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Really delicious!!! Put in twice as much feta as indicated for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I really liked how quick and easy this was to make. I did add some minced garlic to my spinach, and upped the feta. I also seasoned the fish with some pepper, but I didn't use salt since the feta is already so salty. I'll probably make this again, although I'm not sure if I'll use flounder again, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Not bad, but lacked flavor in spite of adding lemon/butter/salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Excellent!!! I added chopped tomato and per the reviews I added garlic, and probably 1/2 cup feta. I also coated the fish with mixture of bread crumbs, Paul Prudome Seafood Magic and Tony Cachere's creole seasoning. I covered it with lemon and butter. You must drain off the moisture from the stuffing mixture (I may even strain it next time) or you will have a mushy problem. I baked it longer than 20 minutes--maybe 30. It was so good--and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States