Spinach-Stuffed Flounder with Mushrooms and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Now the end result will depend on where you get your fish and how fresh it is. I was lucky enough to pick up some very fresh local flounder from my local farmers market and it made this dish spectacular. Remember, if it smells like fish don't eat it. Fish is meant to smell like salt water if you can imagine that. It should have a very clean almost fresh scent that doesn't make you pull back or scrunch your nose upon taking a good whiff. I also recommend getting your hands on local spinach and mushrooms. I sautéed the sliced mushrooms for about five minutes with a tablespoon of butter and a nice sized garlic clove mined. I added the spinach,salt and fresh cracked pepper to the mushrooms and finished cooking it down. Afterward I drained the liquid from the pan and set it aside. I took the fish and soaked it in cold water for about five minutes. I took it out of the water and patted the filets down then rolled them over the mushroom spinach mixture. I used two toothpicks and actually baked the filets seam up. I couldn't fit all my veg in the filets so I stuffed the remaining mixture into the filets from each side making sure to pack the fish with the mushrooms and spinach mix. I saved a little of the butter from the sautéed pan and I poured that over each filet and then baked it following the recipe above. I served it with baked/broiled red potatoes and it was one of the best meals I've ever made. You'd pay a fortune for this at the beach. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Agree with the others, and realized off the bat that unseasoned fish would be bland. Added several cloves of minced garlic while I cooked the mushrooms, then sprinkled in some garlic powder when I added the fresh spinach. Seasoned the fish with a mixture of sea salt, thyme, and lemon peel, then substituted the water at the bottom of the pan for lemon juice. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious, but we did make 2 changes. I switched the feta cheese for ricotta, my husband doesn't care for feta. And I sprinkled the fillets with Old Bay seafood seasoning. I'm saving this one to my pinterest account.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
good heathy quick dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Great, easy dish! Almost no prep+really easy clean- up+delicious taste=new weekly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Quigley Bailif
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Really loved this dish, even my picky husband had to admit it was pretty good. I used a lot more cheese and sauteed some minced garlic with the mushrooms. I also salted and peppered the spinach when I added it to the pan and salted and peppered the raw fillets. After stuffing the fillets I cooked them on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray without covering with tin foil at the recommended time and temperature, and they were not the least bit mushy. Absolutely delicious, thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Quigley Bailif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yuck! I followed the recipe along with some of the suggestions and it was terrible. Not sure why everyone likes this, the spinach was so soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Spletzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
As-is I think it's a great idea for a healthy dish, but needs seasonings -- 3 stars. Using suggestions of other reviewers, it is 4 stars. Next time I will try cooking it on the stovetop (covered skillet) to see if fish turns out more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
After following suggestions in other reviews, I made this tonight and it was FANTASTIC! ( I gave it 4 stars, since I made a few changes.) Used one TBS EVOO and one TBS unsalted butter when I sauteed the mushrooms and garlic. Used the recommended 1/2 cup feta (a MUST!). My hubby mentioned this would also be great if we added bacon (cooked and chopped) to the filling. Instead of "rollups", I placed one flounder filet in PAM sprayed baking dish, topped with the "filling", then topped with second flounder filet and seasoned with Lemon Pepper. Baked for full 30 minutes. MAGNIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I substituted red snapper for the flounder and added 4 gloves of garlic (I also used a feta in garlic oil...we're a little garlic crazy in my house!) as well as used more mushrooms than the recipe called for. It was really tasty. My boyfriend was amazed at how healthy the meal is too (fish, lots of veggies, no butter and very little oil). It was really simple to make as well! I will definitely use this recipe again, and it will be great for stuffed chicken as well. Love recipes like this! They are so versatile AND delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States