Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I've made this several times, the first time following the directions exactly, but the bacon was undercooked and left the chicken very greasy. The next time I pre-cooked the bacon in the microwave about half way first, but again, the chicken was a bit greasy and the bacon wasn't doing anything to compliment the chicken. Now instead of bacon I wrap the chicken in prescutto and it's perfect! The flavors mix very well with the feta and spinach stuffing. It's now the first thing I cook for a guy when I want to impress him, and it works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1083 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very nutricious and delicious entree. Several reviewers said they found the chicken bland and dried out after the specified cooking time. After I butterflied the chicken breasts, I seasoned them with garlic powder and onion powder. Then, because I don't like chicken that does not have a golden color on the outside, I sauteed in a nonstick pan sprayed with Pam (because I am fat conscious due to cholesterol) for about 45 seconds per side til I got the color I wanted. (The center was still quite rare.) I made my stuffing by using only half of a 10 oz carton of frozen spinach. (Drain the spinach well on lots of paper towels.) Then I added 3 parts fat free sour cream to 1 part mayo. Per a previous reviewer I added 1 tsp of egg substitute to bind the mixture. I also sauteed sweet Vidalia onions and fresh minced garlic to add to the spinach mixture. Instead of feta cheese, I added grated Parmesan/Romano cheese (about 1/4 cup). After stuffing the chicken, I precooked slices of turkey bacon (less fat) and topped them on the chicken pieces. I covered my chicken with aluminum foil to bake in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes (depends on thickness of your butterflied breasts). It was quite moist and very flavorful (not bland or dry.) And because I cut back on fat at every opportunity, it was healthy for our lifestyle. Hope this helps those who have the same dietary concerns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1030 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Very good! I made this over the weekend, adapting it a bit by making a mixture of lemon juice, olive oil, crushed garlic and oregano, and spooning it over the chicken breasts while they roasted (from another similar recipe here on Allrecipes.com). The lemon and feta work really well together, and the oil helps "crisp" the top of the chicken and bacon wrapped around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
539 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Love it. Have made some changes that will stay. I roll up inside a slice of prosciutto with the spinach and cheese. No mayo. Skip the bacon. I use a skillet to brown on all sides then add 3/4 cup chicken broth and 2-3 tbsp lemon juice cover and let simmer. Skip the oven. Takes maybe 12 minutes remove chicken wraps and simmer a minute longer to thicken sauce, if needed, then spoon over wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe! I did what some other suggested and some chopped onion, sun dried tomatos and toasted pine nuts to the spinach mix. I also heated the oven to 400 degrees and cooked them for 15 minutes covered, 20 minutes uncovered and broiled them the last 5 minutes. The chicken browned a bit more, the bacon came out pretty crispy and the chicken was juicy and perfectly cooked. This was a wonderful and easy chicken dinner that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I too added a few of my own touches. I skipped the bacon, brushing olive oil on top of the chicken instead. Also, my family love mushrooms, so I chopped up mushroom, onion and threw in some bread crumbs into the stuffing, using egg as the binder instead of mayo....way yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is excellent. I took a previous reviewer's advice and made a sauce out of lemon juice,olive oil,fresh crushed garlic and oregano and drizzled over the chicken. My kids and Hubby love this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This recipe as is I would not have enjoyed however I took the basis and added my own ingredients. I first used monteray jack instead of feta because I don't like it. Then to the spinach mix I added chopped onion and mushroom as well as chopped bacon instead of wrapping the chicken in bacon. Once the chicken was cooked I topped it with a bernaise sauce. It was very rich and flavorful. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I made this following the exact cooking instructions - came out great! Tangy and healthy dish without any added salt.If you have extra spinach left you can add some cream and extra feta to make a glorious pasta sauce - better than pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
Very tasty. I love chicken, feta and spinach the combination was great. Rave reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States