Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
VERY YUMMY! As always-marinate chicken in buttermilk for a few hours before preparing(1cup milk 1tbs white vinegar or lemon juice if no buttermilk on hand)-makes the chicken sooo moist.I cooked bacon half way in skillet and removed. Then I added the spinach and garlic to the same skillet and cooked down(thanks to a tip from another reviewer). When done I squeezed in paper towels to take out some of the grease. Then I mixed with sour cream, a combo of mont jack and sharp cheddar cheese, pepper, salt, a little each of curry powder, red pepper flakes and hung paprika for a little xtra zip and rolled into chicken and cooked as directed with the bacon on top. Worth making. No leftovers-unfortunately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
757 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Awesomeeeeeeeeeeee dish. Looked like it was from a Gourmet Magazine. We did marinate the chicken in a buttermilk marinade, as a previous user suggested. The bacon turned out great, and we added tons of cheese. Mozzerella, Parm, Feta, etc. We just cooked the spinach as directed on the label, not with the microwave as the recipe suggests. We also actually ended up with a lot of the spinach/cheese-stuffing left over. Oh well. We probably measured something wrong. One suggestion: There was a ton of bacon grease that was sort of oozing out onto the baking dish when it was in the oven. Most of it got burned onto the baking dish. I'd suggest putting the chicken breasts on aluminum foil and then put that on a baking dish, just to minimize the scrubbing of the burnt bacon grease off the baking dish. Very good chicken though. We used a lot of toothpicks, but we probably didn't need to. Make sure you pound the breasts to 1/2 inch so it's easy to roll up too. Bottomline: Tasty, tasty dish. Try it. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
After reading all the reviews I simplified the recipe slightly by using about half of a 10 oz. frozen package of spinach (well drained), cut the garlic down by half and added a bit more cheese. I precooked the bacon for about 4-5 minutes in the microwave and then placed two strips in an "X" over the top of the stuffed breast and tucked the ends underneath - no need for toothpicks. With 3-4 minutes under a broiler to finish off the bacon and a light sprinkling of more shredded cheese over the top, these were fantastic! Simple enough to make for the family, elegant enough to serve to company. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
okay...so the "don't tamper with the recipe" people aren't going to be so happy, but I absolutely loved this recipes but I made a lot of changes. I added feta and parmesan to the cheese mixture, added sundried tomatoes and mushrooms, onions and fresh basil to the spinach mixture as well as red pepper flakes for a kick. I also cut back on the bacon and it was still amazing. Great flavor, chicken was juicy, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was very good....I half cooked the bacon. In the grease, I sauteed the spinach, tomato, and garlic. I patted some of the grease out as suggested by another reviewer. I used about a half cup each of mozz. and parmesan cheese. I also seasoned the chicken breast with seasoned salt and seasoned the spinach mixture with garlic powder, onion powder, Tony's, salt, and pepper. We had some left over spinach stuff so I put it in a very small baking dish, baked it, and made a yummy dip out of it! :) That was delicious too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Really yummy. I didn't have pepperjack cheese, so I used Monteray Jack instead. I made the full filling amount, but only used 2 chicken breats.(It's just the 2 of us) I didn't have time to fill them, so instead I just mounded the spinach mixture into a casserole dish, and layed the chicken breasts of top, and then covered the chicken with the baccon slices. I cooked it at 350 for about 25 mins, and then finished it off by broiling it for about 5 mins to really crisp up the baccon. Very tasty! The baccon made the chicken SOOOO juicy. I'll make this again for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this last night and it looked great, but tasted horrible. Even my husband, who will eat almost ANYTHING hated it. Neither one of us could eat more than a few bites. The worst part was that it wasn't a quick recipe to make and I wasted a lot of time on it only to have it turn out nasty. The evening started out with a gourmet-looking meal on our plates and ended with us eating frozen dinners. Sorry...but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe was great. I added a little salt to the spinach filling. Next time I would also season the chicken breasts before filling them. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was fabulous! I made a couple of changes: I used 1 cup of the pepper jack cheese and I also added 1/2 cup parmesan. I sauteed the spinach and garlic in 1 TBSP butter before adding the other ingredients and I sprinkled a little seasoning salt on the chicken. A little messy to make, but it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was really tasty, great flavors. My changes were just 2 large cloves pressed, aged sharp chedder, one piece of bacon per breast and some cushed red pepper flakes for spice. Really tasty and pretty easy to make w/ great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States