Spinach, Sausage and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Excellent! My wife likes about one out of ten of my meals - and this one she loved. I used left-over pork sausage & tomato sauce and cut the recipe basically in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Aztec, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Good recipe. Could use something crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Another low carb dish to add to the recipe book! I simply added some pepper, onion salt, and garlic powder and my family of five loved it! My husband was licking the spoon while he was helping me clean up - that's always a good sign! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was amazing. Huge hit at the dinner table. Swapped cottage cheese out for ricotta. Definitely will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
had to make some subs due to what I had in the pantry vs. what the recipe called for. The flavor was good, added some garlic and onion to the meat sauce. Used fresh spinach and mixed the cheese and spinach in the food processor. Red sauce came out a little soupy because of the tomatoes. There were no leftovers and my youngest begged me to make it for dinner the next night too. Next time I'm going to add some pasta into the mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I substitued ricotta for the cottage cheese, used one can of tomato paste and one can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil instead of tomato sauce. It was absolutely delicious and made wonderful leftovers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was really good - I made only a couple of minor changes based on reading the reviews. I used hot Italian sausage and added diced onion and garlic while I was browning it. I only used one package of spinach and squeezed it with a towel to get most of the liquid out. I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and added some oregano into the mixture. I think next time I'll add black olives to the cheese topping. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swat99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is really good! The 2 men in my house loved it. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and a small onion and sauteed it with the sausage. I also added 1 can of drained Italian tomatoes along with the tomato sauce. I used shredded 6 cheese Italian in place of the mozarella. I drained and dried the spinach. I think you will get the liquid separation as long as you are using the tomato sauce. This was not a big deal for us. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I eat low carb so it was perfect. I don't think I would change anything, well, maybe I will add some garlic and onion like some of the other reviews did to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This recipe is amazing! My husband is trying to lose weight and to make matters difficult, he is a very picky eater. I have had difficulty finding recipes that are less than 400 cal per serving that have good flavor and are filling. This recipe is perfect and fits my criteria. I did do a few things differently. I made it with chicken sausage (to cut saturated fats). I also sauteed minced garlic and onions and added it to the tomato sauce. I also made sure to drain as much fluid out of the spinich as possible so that it wouldn't make the recipe soupy. Honestly, I loved the cottage cheese in the recipe so it really doesn't need to be made with ricotta (which has more fat and calories). Thank you for sharing this recipe. It will be a family favorite at our table for years to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States