Spinach, Sausage and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I really like this recipe, but the second time that I tried it, I made some changes. Instead of using cottage cheese, I used ricotta. I think it gave it a nicer texture, and survived the baking better than the cottage cheese. Also, I drained the spinach by placing it in a paper towel and sqeezing out the excess liquid. Otherwise, the dish becomes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
We loved this recipe!! It had a great flavor and was very filling. A helpful hint, squeeze your spinach dry. I used a hot italian suasage and added onions and garlic to the meat mixture. I also added a can of italian tomatoes (drained well). This dish is a hit and was fought over for lunch leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I was looking or something quick and easy to make for a potluck with ingredients around the house, came up with this, and it was great. I didn't have sausage so I used ground turkey with some extra italian spices and used about two cups of cooked pasta instead of half of the spinach. I also used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 4 oz can of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Not bad. I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. It was kind of flat, but tasted good. Wasn't my favorite, but I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe. I used fresh spinach, as well as sauteed garlic & onion. I was a little unsure about using fresh spinach, but it worked fine. Mine was a little bit soupy, so we put it over the Asparagus Zucchini Rice recipe from this site. It made a suprisingly good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I need to re-do this recipe a bit before 5-star rating. Definitely drain spinach on paper towel, as suggested by another user--frozen spinach never drains well and leaves dish a bit soupy and more spinachy flavor than spinach haters would tolerate. I also would like to try ricotta rather than cottage cheese; even if it's more calories, it is atkins friendly and will blend much better. The flavor was very good as is. I just want to work on the appearance and consistency of the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was amazing. Huge hit at the dinner table. Swapped cottage cheese out for ricotta. Definitely will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Really good. My husband is not a huge fan of cottage cheese, so I used 1 c. of it and dotted the spinach mixture with 2 oz. of LF cream cheese. I used turkey sausage and all low-fat cheeses very successfully. Served over angel hair it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
We have given up pasta,bread,etc. This low-carb recipe is just like lasagna without the pasta. I add more italian spice to it and have even used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. My husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Really good - i used fresh spinach and added a carmelized onion. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States