Spinach, Sausage and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I really like this recipe, but the second time that I tried it, I made some changes. Instead of using cottage cheese, I used ricotta. I think it gave it a nicer texture, and survived the baking better than the cottage cheese. Also, I drained the spinach by placing it in a paper towel and sqeezing out the excess liquid. Otherwise, the dish becomes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Really good. My husband is not a huge fan of cottage cheese, so I used 1 c. of it and dotted the spinach mixture with 2 oz. of LF cream cheese. I used turkey sausage and all low-fat cheeses very successfully. Served over angel hair it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe. I used fresh spinach, as well as sauteed garlic & onion. I was a little unsure about using fresh spinach, but it worked fine. Mine was a little bit soupy, so we put it over the Asparagus Zucchini Rice recipe from this site. It made a suprisingly good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
We have given up pasta,bread,etc. This low-carb recipe is just like lasagna without the pasta. I add more italian spice to it and have even used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. My husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Excellent!! I sliced my sausage into coin type pieces before cooking them....My hubby even loved and he's not big on spinach! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
My husband loves this. It's like a great lasagna only without the noodles. Rich and wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Everyone like this. I have kids who would rather eat nothing but hot dogs and a husband who thinks he doesn't like cottage cheese. They all ate this up and asked to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
This was really easy to make and very tasty. I added onion and garlic to the sausage as well as some ground pepper. My family loved it. Definitely a keeper to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This recipe was received well by my family. We found it a little salty, but think some adjustment of ingredients would help. Also, the type of sausage might make a difference. The sausage that I used was a little salty on its own. Another brand I think would have been better. But, it was very easy, fast, and a pretty dish to serve. I added a little black pepper to the spinach mixture, and a little garlic and fresh basil to the sausage mixture. We all decided that this recipe was a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
i like the foundation for this recipe but i think that if you cut up the sausage and also use triple the tomatoe sauce that it would be 5 stars definately!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States