Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was truly amazing. Everyone at the table raved and I was sending them home with the recipe. Even small, picky children will eat their spinach if you make this one. It's often the simple recipes that are the best and this is definitely one I'll make often. Thanks, Chef John! Thanks for the video too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I did not cook the onion and used a sweet Vidalia onion - perfect dressing - tastes like the one my grandmother made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This dressing is incredible! Family raved! Used my own salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great salad recipe! I left out the cornstarch as I found the dressing to be plenty thick on its own. The dressing was great served cold for lunch the following day too. Definitely one of my new "go-to" salad recipes. I did not and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PsMommy4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made this tonight and it is my new favorite salad dressing! Just like a restaraunts. I didn't use the peas and added an egg, but it was just like I like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Gawd, I loved this Chef John! I've made hot bacon dressing for years, but yours is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I substituted red wine vinager for the rice, and left off the sugar (dietary restriction) but divine and satisfying meal. Would be nice for a small dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint James City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used green onions, no veggie oil, no peas or mushrooms. I added hard boiled eggs to the spinach. Everyone loved it. The recipe Makes about six hearty servings. The sugar could be adjusted downward perhaps. Really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
watch the video! I wanted to skip the oil until watched the video, cut bacon with kitchen shears. added 2 hard boiled eggs because I like eggs in my spinach salad. other than that followed recipe. make sure you have all your chopping and measuring done ahead. awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was my first foray into warm bacon dressing! So good! I don't even care for black-eyed peas but they were great in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States