Spinach Salad with Baked Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
wow, baked goat's cheese without baking, I love it!! The salad can always be revamped, but the spinach or mesclun mix seems to pair really well with the goats cheese. I sprinkle almonds and sometimes add some strawberries, anything goes, but the goats cheese is what makes this such a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is a good recipe that impresses guests without much effort. I loved the texture and delicate flavor of the warm goat cheese encrusted with the garlic and breadcrumb mixture, but thought the spinach needed a little something extra. Next time I will try adding a good amount of freshly shredded carrot and/or diced red or yellow pepper to add color and variety. I would definately make this again; it's very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Read

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I LOVE Goat Cheese Salads, and this one just didn't do it for me. I'll try it again sometime with a different Goat Cheese (I'm sure that the one you pick makes or breaks this salad). I also had trouble coating the cheese with bread crumbs the way I wanted to, but that was probably just user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
this was a great dish I served it to my girlfriend and she thought it was from a rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was very good and easy! I did put the breaded cheese in the oven for a few minutes to crisp it a little more. Also put red onions and carrots on the salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
simply elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Very nice salad. It was rather difficult "baking" the goat cheese. I was impatient and put it all in the pan, making it very challenging to flip them. So do only a few at a time, like the directions say. I used panko for the bread crumbs. I also made the oil and vinegar into a dressing, whisking in 1/2 tsp. dijon mustard and 1/2 tsp. mayo (as emulsifiers) and adding a pinch of salt and pepper. Some real bacon bits were a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I thought the 'baked' goat cheese was delicious...I used panko 'italian style' bread crumbs..I thought the cool greens with the warm cheese was good but next time I might try sauteed spinach with sun-dried tomatoes ...Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
YUM! I added some red onion to the spinach but otherwise left it as is. The goat cheese was a wonderful addition and this made a perfect lunch for me today. Thank you Radiogirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was my first experience using goat cheese. I used panko bread crumbs, gave a nice crunch coating! I added chopped walnuts and fresh blueberries. Next time I will blend the oil and vinegar together before putting it on the salad. It's missing some flavor though, even with the cheese. The cheese would be great served on top of filet mignon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States