Spinach Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
What a nice salad this is. I cooked and cooled the dressing as directed and then hit it with the immersion blender. It tasted great! (I did use romaine and spinach instead of iceberg) Why this recipe with 62 good reviews has been waiting for a picture for 12 years is a mystery. Try it - you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I loved this salad. Because I am a diabetic, I used Splenda instead of sugar in the dressing and it came out tasting almost better than with real sugar. When I make the salad I tend to add what will suit the occastion. I am always asked to make this for family gatherings and we are talking a large family (sometimes 30 to 40 people). I always start with spinach and use another lettuce besides iceburg. Always add the onions and I add cherry tomatos, some type of cheese and a veggie with a different color (just a little like some yellow and orange peppers for Thanksgiving). I do add the croutons and mix the dressing with the salad right before serving. I serve the bacon and eggs on the side due to the amount a vegetarians in our family. There is usually very little if any left. What is left over is great with ham or turkey added. Wonderful salad and I have become the official salad maker of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Pretty good.... I made beef bourguignon for my hubby last night (we celebrated Valentine's day early). A spinach salad seemed to be the perfect complement to our meal. I was on the lookout for a dressed up, slightly elegant salad and this fit the bill perfectly! Loaded with bacon, egg and croutons, this was definitely not lo cal. :) As with all new recipes I try, I made a couple of slight changes. I omitted the romaine called for and used all spinach instead (the entire bunch of it). I also halved everything (again, I was serving two people and even then, only as a side dish), substituted bacon grease for some of my vegetable oil (I can't imagine not using it, especially since it added SO much flavor!) and reduced the amount of sugar by half (i.e. 2.5 T + 1/2 t). I added chopped egg only to my portion because my hubby HATES eggs.... My only regret is that I didn't pour my dressing over my greens while still warm. This is how traditional spinach & bacon salad is served (at least the ones I've tried). All said and done, this is decent, but I'm not sure it's what I'm looking for. I think I'll continue my search, maybe for a recipe that also includes some sort of cheese (i.e. blue, gorgonzola, etc.). Thanks anyways, Terra! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was a great salad and the dressing is fabulous. Put plenty of the dressing on the salad....it makes it! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Salad was okay as is, but I agree there was WAY too much sugar in the dressing! Next time I'll just try 2 Tbsp. I also omitted the croutons. I think that with changes, the salad could be quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
It was a sweet. My kids thought it "way too sweet". My husband and I liked it. It makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Quick and easy version: I used 2 servings of the dressing, 1/2-clamshell baby spinach, and 4 slices bacon. You can just microwave the dressing until boiling (~1 min), much easier than stovetop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is a pretty good spinach salad. The recipe makes an abundance of dressing so you could definitely cut it in half. I have tossed the salad with the dressing at room temperature, but I have also heated it briefly in the microwave before adding-both are tasty. On the sweet side, you may want to play around with the sugar to prepare a slightly more tart version. The kids in my Foods and Nutrition class thought this recipe was delicious--many of them had never tried "fresh" spinach before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe! Although we did not make the entire salad, only the dressing, we found preparation easy and the flavor delightful! We have saved this versatile recipe and use the dressing for everyday use or for special occassions! We hope you enjoy it as much as we did! P.S. In our initial preparation we substituted white for red onion and it worked very well! We tossed the dressing with a spring/spinach mix salad and whole roasted almonds and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
very good. made mine with spinach and romaine for some extra crunch. Loved the dressing. Will make this again and again. Thanks for the tasty recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States