Spinach Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
It's the dressing that truly makes this salad delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I agree with the other poster that it took awhile, but maybe that's because I was multi-tasking. Definitely get the eggs boiling and the bacon cooking and then start on the dressing. My husband loved the sweetness, but I also think I would cut down on sugar. One warning: don't overcook. Whisk continuously, just until the onions get tender. I went off to work on another dish and the oil separated, and I ended up with a sticky, dark brown caramel ball. Had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Excellent salad Terra. I omitted the lettuce and doubled the spinach. The dressing was great with only 2T sugar. I'm not sure we would have like it with 2/3 cup. With modifications to the dressing, this salad is a winner! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
The dressing to this recipe is incredible in itself. I adjusted a little because I didn't have white wine vinegar. I used rice vinegar instead and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This was delicious with some mods. I made 1/2 of this recipe to make 4 servings. After reading lots of reviews, I changed some things for my 4 servings: used 1 Tbs. sugar (plenty sweet), used a combo of dry white wine and plain rice vinegar (didn't have white wine vinegar), subbed water for about 1/4 of the oil, used a 9 oz. bag of "Leafy Green Blend" (and omitted the iceberg lettuce), subbed 1/2 cup Mrs. Cubisson's Herb Seasoned Dressing for the croutons (next time I would not bother with either), and also added a bit of blue cheese. This made a huge amount of salad, more like a good 5-6 servings. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Hello Michele - Get a clue! I have finally come to the conclusion that I just DON'T like sugar based dressing. The sugar in this pretty much ruined the taste of the salad, mind you the salad itself is AWESOME. The dressing - UGH! Thanks for the salad idea Terra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I make this dressing often and keep it on hand. I use it for all kinds of salads...not just spinach. I do find that it mixes better if you let it come to room temperature before you serve it. It doesn't mix well cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Scrumptious!! My 20 year old son who doesn't like salad - loved it!! I served it with the Arti-Cheesy Chicken. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I did not decrease the amount of sugar and this salad was a HUGE hit at Christmas. I doubled the amounts to feed 25 and there was plenty! Everyone loved it and had 2nds and 3rds. Great Recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
We enjoyed this. Next time I'll not crush the croutons. The flavors in the dressing are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States