Spinach Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made this yesterday for a friend's birthday spa party and all the ladies loved it. Everyone wants the recipe. It was light and filling at the same time. Just enough. I have to admit that I was a little skeptical about putting the crushed croutons in, but it definitely helped make the salad a success. I also took Feta cheese to sprinkle on top, and lots of people liked that added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fithian, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint John, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made this salad for company on New Year's Day, and it was delicious. I used just 1/2 cup sugar. I also used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup vegetable oil, then 1/2 cup of water. It was perfect for us....just sweet enough and thick enough to stick to the spinach. I'll use this dressing recipe often on any salad. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I LOST my "Spinach Salad" dressing recipe and after looking at Emeril's, etc., I felt like this one was pretty close to what I had made before. I had to scale it down for two and it was just absolutely wonderful...I used baby spinach leaves and added a splash or two of Raspberry Vinegar to give it just a hint of a "kicked up" flavor. We enjoyed this recipe on New Year's Eve with our Lobsters...it was just perfect!! THANK YOU! PS ~ If it's "gooey" or whatever like some other comments, then just add more liquid, vinegar/oil, etc OR just LEARN to mix it RIGHT LOL ~ This recipe is great the way it's written...for me anyway ~ ENJOY and THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I've made this for 2 group dinners and it was a hit. I don't like really sweet dressings so I reduced the sugar in the dressing to 1/3 cup and added 1 cup thinly sliced mushrooms. It was a hit - one guest threatened to lick the bowl. The 2nd dinner was during the spinach scare so I substituted a spring mix blend (no spinach) for the spinach and it was still a great tasting salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Delicious. My 1 year old even ate this green after I chopped it up very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This was delicious but , like others, I had to add a little extra. I sauteed one sliced onion (almost to caramelization) and also added some shallot to the pan. I then put the spinach in and heated it with the cream cheese so I could mix it. I left out the lemon pepper and instead added nutmeg and salt and pepper. I then baked it in the cast iron skillet it was in. Delicious. I think this makes a good base for adding a lot of different ingredients that you might have on hand; mushrooms, a handfull of frozen veggies, whatever you think might work. As is tho' I think it's just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I loved the salad... it was exacly what I was looking for. The dressing needs work. I might of over cooked it... it turned into a thick gooey mass that needs thinning. I will try what others have said and use some water in place of some oil. Also, the sugar could be cut back a little. The dressing is very tasty however and makes the salad if the consistency is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Great! My husband loved the bread crouton crumbs and the dressing mix. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I finally found it - a perfect hot bacon/egg dressing for spinach salad. Although this recipe says to cool it before serving, it's perfect served warmed. Instead of cutting down the sugar or halving the oil with water - I just added water to the recipe. It made it seem less sweet and sticky than what other reviewers seemed to imply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Delicious, but the recipe makes alot of dressing. Our family doesn't drown our salads in dressing, in the future I will only make 1/4 of the dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States