Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was ok. It wasn't as tasty as I thought it was going to be, but it was a nice healthy side dish for the chicken we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Except for omitting the jalapeno peppers, adding 2 small cloves of garlic, and a bit of milk before baking (because I mixed it the day before and much of the liquid had been absorbed) I prepared this for a Thanksgiving get together. Some people thought it was a casserole...Others thought it was a dip. Everyone loved it. Received several requests for the recipe. ELI3LEG thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this for Sunday lunch and everyone loved it. I had to put another recipe in the oven during dinner so we could have seconds! I left out the cheese product and it had great consistency.This will have a place on our table for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made this recipe, but used about 3 cups cooked rice (Zatarain's), 3/4th's of a bag (9 oz.) of fresh spinach, 1/2 small green pepper (don't like jalapenos and didn't have any green chilies), and added 1/2 cup julienned carrots and used garlic powder. I cooked the carrots and green pepper with the onions and spinach separately. I sprinkled the top with cheese instead of adding it to the mix. It was delicious. This recipe is so versatile. A real keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psweston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I doubled this recipe, but NOT the spinach. It was perfect. I also used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of chicken. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Even though I had to use what was available in the kitchen this is a great combo of ingredients and I will have to get the peppers for the next meal. I used fresh spinach, wild rice, cream of mushroom, white onions and gouda cheese. Thanks it went well with the roasted chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Excellent. I used a bunch of fresh spinach rinsed and pulsed in the food processor. I used 1/4 cup mozzarella and baked for 40 minutes. Will make again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly only substituting real shredded cheddar for the processed cheese. I also covered the top in shredded cheese. Wow! we loved it. I am sure this dish could also be made without the hot peppers and still be delicious for those who don't like their food with a kick. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was absolutely scumptious!!! I made a couple of changes, however. I used brown rice and used more rice than the recipe called for. I did not use jalepenos because I didn't have any. I added some garlic as another reviewer suggested, and also 1/4 tsp white pepper for a little kick. I also added about half a cup of jullienned carrots, which I sauteed with the onions. They were delicious! I topped it with bread crumbs, too. And I actually omitted the cheese entirely, but the good news is I didn't miss it AT ALL - if you're trying to cut back on calories, don't be afraid to leave out the cheese! It's the kind of recipe you can really play with to suit your tastes - wonderful, I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States