Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe was really great. I made a few substitutions: I used Campbell's Cream of Chicken Mushroom soup. Added an entire container of sliced mushrooms (sautéed with the onion), omitted the jalapeño, and since I'm not a fan of processed cheese, I topped everything with a layer of breadcrumbs and shredded sharp cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stovetopgoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made it as directed and it was just OK. It's too cheesy and not enough rice for me. I used canned diced jalapeno and fresh spinach. I think I'll stick with just sauteing it with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this for Easter because we like spicy food. It was very good we did add more rice like the other reviewers did. We avoided the cheese and used a bread crumb topping. Very good, thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made with fresh spinach and more rice. I also only had pickled jalapenos which worked ok, but could have been left out if you don't want spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Delicious! I made it with a whole cup of brown rice instead of white, and I substituted shredded cheddar cheese. Since I didn't have any jalapeños, I substituted about a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper - it had just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe turns any spinach hater to a spinach lover. I've made this dish as stated and it was awesome. It is even better with cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken. You can even make it kid friendly by omitting the jalapenos (we like this the best). This is a great Holiday recipe for the entire family. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I think something is wrong with the measure for rice vs. spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Super easy! I wanted to hide some spinach in my bf's lunch, so I whipped this up before work one morning. Subbed mushroom soup, vegetable stock for water, cream cheese for cubed, and added some paprika, chili powder and what turned out to be too much red pepper flakes (half a pinch is enough!). Also added grated carrot and diced zucchini with the spinach just before the onions were done sauteeing. Definitely crumble something crunchy on top! I used crushed rice crackers because it's what we had, but literally anything works - Doritos are insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe!!! I make it with original laughing cow cheese instead of the orange stuff since I don't keep that on hand. I too add more rice and love to throw some chicken or turkey in it from time to time! If you're into happy eating this is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken, garlic instead of onions, omitted the peppers and cheese, used more rice and added bread crumbs on top. It turned out great, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salanco16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States