Spinach Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Pretty good. Used about 2-3 cups cooked rice. I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder, diced chicken and on top I sprinkled bread crumbs. I also did about 1 cup onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was extremely good but as most commenters said, I did alter the recipe. I substituted some garlic for the jalapeño and used cream of onion soup instead because that's what I had in the house. I also left out the cheese which was a good choice because as much as I love cheese, you really don't miss it at all. Very easy to make and really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I used one cup of cooked minute rice, about 4 oz sharp cheddar, 2 oz parmesan, 1 t crushed garlic, minced onion, cream of mushroom soup (these were things I had on hand). i also skipped the skillet part since I did not use fresh onion. Delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was a lot of work, and it was a little disappointing. You end up using a lot of dishes too. Made exactly as recipe says and as i was making it realized it was a ton of chicken soup and velveeta for the amount of rice. I love creamy dishes but this is just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LSHYU
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Creamy, cheesy, and spicy! What more could you ask for? I made this almost exactly as is, but added an extra cup of rice and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese before baking. I also only added the chopped jalapenos to half of the casserole so my little ones could eat it, too. Next time I'd like to try it with garlic like others suggested, but overall, delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was ok. I had leftover cooked rice so I used 2 cups of that. Even so, there was too much spinach for this recipe. Maybe half? And I don't think the processed cheese did anything for this recipe. If using, make sure to stir it about half way thru baking. If I were to make this recipe again I would leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made this today, but made so much modification based on the other reviewers. The star 2 is based on the original, as it would have been 2-star had I made this without modification, this is why: I would definitely increase the amount of rice to 1 cup for 6 servings (1/3 cup is simply not enough for 6). I would also increase the milk to 1/2 cup, not 1/4 cup for more smooth texture. And then, modify the amount of salt accordingly based on the liking. 1/2 tea spoons of salt for 1/3 cup rice mixture is way too salty and unhealthy to me, considering the fact that salt is already in the soup and cheese on top. Also I think 1 can of soup mix (10.75 oz) and 4 oz cheese for 1/3 cup rise is not the right proportion, need more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. Like most, I took advice and changed it. But with spices, mine came out to taste just like Uncle Ben's Original Wild Rice-- which my family loves! So I feel very grateful to the person who posted this, and I got the spices from another place on line. This is what I used: • 1 1/2 cup uncooked long grain wild rice • ½ cup of regular white rice • 2/3 cup water • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted (or any kind of creamed soup) • 1/4 cup milk • 2 tablespoons butter • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion or green onions • 1 (12 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach • 1 teaspoon dry chopped onion flakes • 1/2 teaspoon dry parsley flakes • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper • 1/2 teaspoon salt • 2 cups chicken stock Cooked it according to wild rice package directions. Man that was great rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe was really great. I made a few substitutions: I used Campbell's Cream of Chicken Mushroom soup. Added an entire container of sliced mushrooms (sautéed with the onion), omitted the jalapeño, and since I'm not a fan of processed cheese, I topped everything with a layer of breadcrumbs and shredded sharp cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made it as directed and it was just OK. It's too cheesy and not enough rice for me. I used canned diced jalapeno and fresh spinach. I think I'll stick with just sauteing it with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States