Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I used brown rice & cooked it with 2 cloves of garlic on the stove top for 30 minutes before adding the spinach. I also used all chicken stock instead of using the water. Otherwise I followed the recipe & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Yum, this was good. Because of the complaints of blandness, I threw in two cloves of garlic with the onion and used all chicken broth instead of chicken broth and water. I also uncovered the casserole for the last few minutes so the cheese would get browned. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I thought this was pretty good, but I think the cooking time is too long. I used basmati rice and boiled it for 10 minutes. I added the spinach and covered it, letting it sit for a few minutes for the spinach to wilt enough for me to stir it together, I dont think its necessary to cook it any longer. The I baked it for 10 minutes, removed the cover and turned the broiler on to brown the cheese. I used 2% swiss cheese and it was great! Nice change from plain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
this is very good and cheesy. i'm going to make it again adding zucchini, carrots, and asparagus to make it a bit more of a main dish. i will definately be taking this as a dish to pass for my family's thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I actually used a 9x13 baking pan and left it uncovered in my oven so the cheese would be browned and there was more surface area for more cheese -- yummers! I cooked it at 375 for just under 20 minutes. I love this recipe, will definitely be making it again. Leaves you satisfied without leaving a mark around your waist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Good, light and healthy lunch. Used brown rice, added some shredded carrots, garlic powder, a little mozz cheese and more pepper . Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I did like some of the other folks and added about 4 cloves of garlic. I also put in a can of drained petit diced tomatoes. Everything else was as written and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I have made his twice, exactly as written and it is a great little side dish. I just wanted to say that I think this dish is just as good even before putting it in the oven. Just take it straight out of the pan onto your plate and sprinkle some cheese on it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was quite a nice addition to a weekday evening meal -nothing spectacular, but a quick and easy rice bake that was simple enough that it would be good along a variety of dishes. Everyone liked it and it was another great way to add some spinach to the children's menu. Just enough for my husband to have some for his lunch the next day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I substituted quinoa for the rice, but followed the recipe as is other than that. It was great! Even my picky Papa ate seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States