Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
5 stars, but added the following: 1/4 t each Oregeno, red pepper flakes, garlic & onion powder; dash of salt and pepper. 1/2 c each sauteed cubed zucchini & fresh sliced mushrooms; 3/4 c cooked chicken breast in cubes, I omit the water but added 1 can cream of chicken soup. We used rustic rice mix (not long grain, but took same amount of time to cook). Added 1/2 c each of shredded colby/Jack and sharp cheddar. 1/4 c shred Parmesan cheese. Mixed all together in large bowl, pored into casserole and baked with Parmesan sprinkled on top for about 15 minutes until warm. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
yummy! I added some extra cheese (Monterrey jack)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I doubled the parmesan cheese and added a head of minced garlic to the onion and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I substituted chicken stock for the water and added diced chicken to make a casserole. Written as is, I think it would be a little bland. I added fresh garlic with the onion and seasoned the chicken for additional flavor. With the small changes I made my family enjoyed and asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Not bad! I followed others' instructions by adding garlic and using all broth instead of broth and water. I also sauteed half a cup each of chopped zucchini and onion, and added 1/4 cup each of Parmesan and extra-sharp cheddar. I think it could probably use a teeny bit more salt but other than that...it works! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very bland, no taste at all. I used all chicken broth (3-1/2 cups) and no water, and also added chicken. Just nothing tasty at all. Sorry Mathilda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I took other reviewers' suggestions and used only 3 cups chicken broth. I also added 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg (next time I will use more) along with the salt and pepper. Also next time I will add chopped or minced garlic to the onion saute and will add fresh mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! I needed to use up some baby spinach that I had in the refrigerator and so I made this along with Lemon-Garlic Tilapia from this website and it was sooo yummy - perfect combination! My husband absolutely LOVED it as well. Said he really didn't deserve such a good meal! lol. Great way to get spinach into him too haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Bailey-Krause

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I substituted quinoa for the rice, but followed the recipe as is other than that. It was great! Even my picky Papa ate seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very nice, simple, and nutritious recipe. A great way to use up the abundance of spinach in my garden! I added 3 cloves of garlic with the onions and used all chicken broth instead of half water thanks to the advice of previous reviewers. I added less liquid than called for--just a little over 3 cups because I was afraid the rice would get mushy. When I transferred the rice to the casserole dish, I added cut-up pieces of leftover chicken and a tablespoon of lemon juice to give it a little kick of extra flavour. With the addition of the chicken it is a main dish meal! I agree with another reviewer, who felt that less cooking time is needed. I kept in the oven just until the cheese began to brown a bit--about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States