Spinach Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
5 stars, but added the following: 1/4 t each Oregeno, red pepper flakes, garlic & onion powder; dash of salt and pepper. 1/2 c each sauteed cubed zucchini & fresh sliced mushrooms; 3/4 c cooked chicken breast in cubes, I omit the water but added 1 can cream of chicken soup. We used rustic rice mix (not long grain, but took same amount of time to cook). Added 1/2 c each of shredded colby/Jack and sharp cheddar. 1/4 c shred Parmesan cheese. Mixed all together in large bowl, pored into casserole and baked with Parmesan sprinkled on top for about 15 minutes until warm. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
yummy! I added some extra cheese (Monterrey jack)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I doubled the parmesan cheese and added a head of minced garlic to the onion and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I substituted chicken stock for the water and added diced chicken to make a casserole. Written as is, I think it would be a little bland. I added fresh garlic with the onion and seasoned the chicken for additional flavor. With the small changes I made my family enjoyed and asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Not bad! I followed others' instructions by adding garlic and using all broth instead of broth and water. I also sauteed half a cup each of chopped zucchini and onion, and added 1/4 cup each of Parmesan and extra-sharp cheddar. I think it could probably use a teeny bit more salt but other than that...it works! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very bland, no taste at all. I used all chicken broth (3-1/2 cups) and no water, and also added chicken. Just nothing tasty at all. Sorry Mathilda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I took other reviewers' suggestions and used only 3 cups chicken broth. I also added 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg (next time I will use more) along with the salt and pepper. Also next time I will add chopped or minced garlic to the onion saute and will add fresh mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! I needed to use up some baby spinach that I had in the refrigerator and so I made this along with Lemon-Garlic Tilapia from this website and it was sooo yummy - perfect combination! My husband absolutely LOVED it as well. Said he really didn't deserve such a good meal! lol. Great way to get spinach into him too haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Bailey-Krause

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I substituted quinoa for the rice, but followed the recipe as is other than that. It was great! Even my picky Papa ate seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very nice, simple, and nutritious recipe. A great way to use up the abundance of spinach in my garden! I added 3 cloves of garlic with the onions and used all chicken broth instead of half water thanks to the advice of previous reviewers. I added less liquid than called for--just a little over 3 cups because I was afraid the rice would get mushy. When I transferred the rice to the casserole dish, I added cut-up pieces of leftover chicken and a tablespoon of lemon juice to give it a little kick of extra flavour. With the addition of the chicken it is a main dish meal! I agree with another reviewer, who felt that less cooking time is needed. I kept in the oven just until the cheese began to brown a bit--about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States