Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
i only cooked the lentils for 20 minutes, and used frozen spinach instead. quite good. needed a little salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
sooo excellent!!! Could not be any easier to whip up but the taste is incredible. Nice blend of spices; one not overpowering of the other. I did add more spices but kept them in the same proportions. Used tunisian chili powder in lieu of the ancho. Had masoor dal (split red lentils) so that made the cooking time even quicker!! A definite keeper and nice complimentary side dish to an Indian dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A real timesaver. Thanks, you curry-lover, from another curry lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. My husband made this twice and the first time it was great, the second, not so good. He used a different yogurt the second time(Nancy's), and it didn't end up as creamy. The first time, we used Greek style yogurt (Cascade Fresh), which we noticed had cream in it, as well as milk. I think it made it all blend together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This was a really brilliant, mild curry. I had to cook for thirty people at my workplace and they absolutely loved it. I have been filling requests for the recipe ever since! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I used swiss chard instead of spinach and changed the spices just a bit to compensate for what I had on hand - I didn't have turmeric so I used a mild curry powder that contained turmeric and I only had regular chili powder so I added a pinch of cayenne to it. I used pinto beans (2 cups that I had previously cooked from dry beans). I also lightly salted each addition as I added it to the pan. This curry looks so beautiful, smells great and tastes just fabulous! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I loved this. I will add more spices next time. Teamed with some basmati rice and naan, this made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I am a vegetarian, and I also don't do much dairy, so I am always looking for recipes full of fresh, colorful foods. For this one, I used silken tofu instead of yogurt, added a little lime, and used dry beans (soaked and cooked). I left out the chopped tomatoes. I also thought that there was a little something missing, so I added a bit of cayenne and salt and here was the trick: brown sugar. I am not sure how much I added (around 2 tbsp) so I would just play with it until it tasted good. Another thought, instead of the brown sugar, might be golden raisins. Once I added the brown sugar, it was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I found that this recipe isn't saucy enough for me, so I double the sauce. Otherwise, it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
WOW! Surprisingly good. A very very mild, subtle curry more like a dahl (is that the term?) Great over rice (white or brown). My sons want a bit more 'kick' to it, so I may add a bit more regular curry spice to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States