Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have to agree that this was pretty bland. I took another posters advice and sauteed the onions with extra spices (aside from what was separatly mixed with the tomato paste.) After adding all the beans, it was terribly bland, so I kept adding and adding spices. Still bland, but not horrible. A decent meal, but definitly need to figure out some way to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is very good. We put it over brown rice. It just needs some additional sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I liked this recipe and so did my boyfriend, it was a good use of leftover ingredients at the house. It just made soooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I think this recipe is great once you add the right amount of flavor. I could not find garam masala, but no worries! For those who do not know, it is a spice blend and the recipe for it can be found on here or elsewhere on the internet. I blended up the basics and threw that into the pot. I accidentally added half of a 32oz container of yogurt (haha), but it really didn't damage the dish at all besides making it more soupy. I threw in some celery leaves because I hate celery but still wanted to benefit from it (;)) and also to take up space since I accidentally added too much yogurt. I also added curry paste for a yummy spicy addition. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, and was really disappointed in how bland it was. Adding curry powder and some salt didn't help much. I think the seasoning was overpowered by the quantity of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Really a great dish..made it the first time for a party and it was a big hit...next time I added more chili flakes and that was even better...the flavours needed a bit of a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynne's favourites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darmstro67
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I also found this bland the first time I made it, so added 1 tsp each of the spices, a larger piece of ginger, and 4 cloves of garlic. For heat I added some chipotle pepper (soaked in boiling water). I used canned tomatoes and 1/2 pkg of frozen spinach so it was really fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very healthy. I increased the spices and used a mixture of red and yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I ended up having to substitute peas for spinach (thought I had some, but didn't) and I used chickpeas (all I had). I did take others advice and added about 2 T of brown sugar. I made an amazing difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
i really enjoyed this. very simple to make and tasty. i used yellow lentils and pizza sauce since i didn't have red lentils or tomato puree. i also skipped the beans since i didn't have any on hand. kids didn't like it but i thought it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States