Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
a bit bland too thick for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Needed more masala in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've been making this recipe almost every other week since I discovered it 5 months ago. Fantastic! I actually use ~7 cups of baby spinach, 3 or 4 tomatoes (and extra tomato puree), a whole bunch of cilantro, LOTS of fresh ginger, and cannelini beans. The result - when combined with naan - makes plenty for 2 nights for my husband and me. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My husband and I didn't care for this at all. The cumin flavor is overpowering and there wasn't enough complexity in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good, easy dish. I just added the onion, garlic, and ginger to the lentils as the lentils simmered. I agree that it needs more spice. I added ~1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and another tsp of cumin. Used 10 oz. of frozen collard greens instead of spinach which added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was really good. I did add more of the spices because the lentils seemed to steal all of the flavor. I also put in more yogurt and tomato puree because we like more sauce. The most shocking part was that my 3 year old (chicken-nugget loving) daughter loved it, and said, "Make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good! Doesn't need extra spices at all if you make the garam masala on this site - it is a mix of 7 or so spices. I did add 2 TB brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups corn. My mother, husband, 14 year old daughter, her 12 year old friend and my 18 month old all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good base, but had to add quite a bit more spice (curry pwdr, cumin, and cayenne pepper for some heat). I also added a heaping tbsp of Madras Curry paste. After all that it was very yummy! NOTE: Played havoc on the digestion for some reason....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We love Indian food but I haven't attempted too many recipes at home. This was easy and it came out great after I doubled the garam masala, used dried cilantro and skipped the mixed beans. Served it over brown rice for a complete meal. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Looks great, but lacking in flavor. Maybe more spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States