Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very tasty! I agree that adding a tablespoon or so of brown sugar balances the acidic tomatoes perfectly. Browned the onions before adding garlic and ginger. Added a dash of salt to onions. Used bottled tomatoes and omitted the cilantro (only because I didn't have it on hand). Good on its own, or served over rice/couscous. Next time I'll just use garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was really easy to make and tastes like what I order from my local INdian restaurant. Made some changes because I was too lazy to go to the store...I didn't have any fresh tomatoes but substituted a 15 oz canned of diced. I pureed a portion for the 1/4 c. Used 1/4 c of heavy instead of yogurt. Also substituted curry powder for the cumin and powdered ginger for the fresh. Only . Still came out great! Will be one of my staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was incredibly easy. I work late & it was convenient for me to make. Like one of the other reviewers, I used frozen spinach(because I'm trying to clean out my freezer a little) and instead of brown sugar, like another person suggested, I used a small piece of jaggery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Wow, this was completely amazing. Best veggie dish I've made in months. I used pinto beans and chickpeas, and also substituted silken tofu for the yogurt. I can't believe anyone is making this without adding the beans! It was great alone then I followed advice of another poster and added brown sugar and this does indeed make it even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved this soup. Perfect with fresh bread in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Excellent dish! I suggest not overcooking this one so that the textures of the spinach and tomatoes are still present. I increased all the seasonings, added a an extra garlic clove or two and a 1/4 a tsp or so of red pepper. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is among the best curries I've ever made! I lacked a few ingredients, so used green lentils instead of red, creme fraiche instead of yoghurt, chick peas instead of beans, and red curry paste instead of garam masala. I used frozen spinach and cherry tomatoes. Still, it was absolutely delicious and even my non-vegetarian boyfriend loved it. Can't wait to cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I liked this a lot because I am pregnant and too much spice gives me heartburn. My husband gave it a "B+" because he loved that it was a healthy dish, but that it lacked flavor....he likes his Indian food spicy. Also, I would reccomend soaking the lentils before cooking them (as someone previously mentioned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is so tasty! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and what I read in other reviews. I used green lentils and cannellini beans. I upped the amount of spices (kind of on the fly) and also added crushed red pepper. Didn't use cilantro and didn't really miss it. I also made a bit more sauce because we like extra. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I loved this dish very much although I've cooked it without curry and tomato paste. It was still delicious and my boyfriend was happy with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States