Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was really easy to make and tastes like what I order from my local INdian restaurant. Made some changes because I was too lazy to go to the store...I didn't have any fresh tomatoes but substituted a 15 oz canned of diced. I pureed a portion for the 1/4 c. Used 1/4 c of heavy instead of yogurt. Also substituted curry powder for the cumin and powdered ginger for the fresh. Only . Still came out great! Will be one of my staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was incredibly easy. I work late & it was convenient for me to make. Like one of the other reviewers, I used frozen spinach(because I'm trying to clean out my freezer a little) and instead of brown sugar, like another person suggested, I used a small piece of jaggery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Wow, this was completely amazing. Best veggie dish I've made in months. I used pinto beans and chickpeas, and also substituted silken tofu for the yogurt. I can't believe anyone is making this without adding the beans! It was great alone then I followed advice of another poster and added brown sugar and this does indeed make it even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved this soup. Perfect with fresh bread in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Excellent dish! I suggest not overcooking this one so that the textures of the spinach and tomatoes are still present. I increased all the seasonings, added a an extra garlic clove or two and a 1/4 a tsp or so of red pepper. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is among the best curries I've ever made! I lacked a few ingredients, so used green lentils instead of red, creme fraiche instead of yoghurt, chick peas instead of beans, and red curry paste instead of garam masala. I used frozen spinach and cherry tomatoes. Still, it was absolutely delicious and even my non-vegetarian boyfriend loved it. Can't wait to cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I liked this a lot because I am pregnant and too much spice gives me heartburn. My husband gave it a "B+" because he loved that it was a healthy dish, but that it lacked flavor....he likes his Indian food spicy. Also, I would reccomend soaking the lentils before cooking them (as someone previously mentioned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is so tasty! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and what I read in other reviews. I used green lentils and cannellini beans. I upped the amount of spices (kind of on the fly) and also added crushed red pepper. Didn't use cilantro and didn't really miss it. I also made a bit more sauce because we like extra. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I loved this dish very much although I've cooked it without curry and tomato paste. It was still delicious and my boyfriend was happy with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this recipe was unbelievably incredible and easy to make! I couldn't find a can of mixed beans so I just used chickpeas. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States