Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I loved this recipe but did modify it as some of the comments suggested. The more spices the better! I sautéed the spices with the onions and added some extra into the yogurt. I also used eggplant instead of tomatoes and might use more vegetables next time. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar which did help the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! I left out the beans, and I think it turns out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Pretty good. I used silken tofu instead of yogurt as suggested by another reviewer and I didn't notice any difference. I did have to add extra spices and salt. Otherwise it would have been bland for me. And some pepper flakes. Served over rice for a tasty Black Friday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
YU-um!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great flavor! I used green lentils instead of the red ones, and instead of mixed beans, I cooked up some adzuki beans. By adding more spinach or cilantro this would be more colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Delicious - really liked this! I happened to us goat's milk natural yogurt as that was all they had in the supermarket and it has given the curry a really nice flavour - i'd recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I love curry and have tried dozens of different recipes. This was not one of the better ones. It also wasn't the worst. With some sort of hot sauce thrown on top, this improves dramatically. Since I often make chole saag and red lentil curry (both from this site) and like them better, I probably will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used chickpeas instead of mixed beans, since that's all I had on hand. I thought that this recipe was good, but missing *something*. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I added some more spice and a spoonful of brown sugar to the leftovers, and that was the key. I think I will make this again, and maybe add some dried cranberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My husband and my 11-year-old liked this, as did I. I used brown lentils, a mixture of half-and-half and sour cream for the yogurt, double the garam masala, a 3rd garlic clove, the tablespoon of brown sugar mentioned by others, and about 5 cups of spinach. Next time I would decrease the lentils to 1/2 cup, add a tomato and more spinach in hopes of obtaining more sauce, and I'd throw in some golden raisins. Clearly, this recipes lends itself to plenty of tweaking, and I like that. Thanks for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I followed this recipe faithfully with the exception of the onions, and it was barely edible. The yogurt and tomato combination is odd, and the lentils absorbed almost all the fluid, making a thick paste with bland beans scattered throughout. Never making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States