Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
awsome. i added curry powder and cayenne. looked and tasted beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was sooooo good. For all of you who like it spicy, add spice...for the rest of us it is amazing!!!! I did not have the ancho chili powder so used regular and it seemed to do the trick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was tasty! My husband especially liked it. The texture and flavor were lovely, lively but not super hot. I didn't have spinach though so I used frozen peas instead. I look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Great recipe! Relatively quick & easy. I can't seem to find cans of mixed bean (I don't know if that's regional...) so I just used red kidney beans & thought that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Finally, a curry I can be proud of! My neighbor is Indian and the most wonderful smells come from her apartment while she is cooking. After making this recipe, my kitchen smells the same and I love it! I used tomato paste and Greek-style yogurt. I also increased the spices by at least double. Instead of garam masala I used curry powder and tossed in some cayenne because I like my curry spicy. Instead of fresh tomatoes I used diced, fire-roasted canned tomatoes. They are sweet and the juice adds to the sauce nicely. For the beans I used half a can chick peas and half a can dark red kidney beans. I also took the advice of another cook and added some brown sugar. Really seemed to add something special. Also, use plenty of salt..there isn't any in the recipe and it does need it! Had this over rice with baked chicken. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was good but could have been a little spicier. It seemed to lose some of its flavor when I added all the lentils. I used frozen spinach, brown lentils, chickpeas, and cherry tomatoes cut in half, which added a nice flavor. Despite the lack of meat, my husband did not complain and complimented me on the dish. Next time I think I will put in more of the spices and roast them in the pan with the onion and oil. That seems to bring out the flavor in Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for! Simple, delicious and healthy. I only used 1 tablespoon of oil, and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Oh my god, how good is this?! It came together in a jiffy, hardly had any time to taste it and adjust it along the way, then suddenly it was bang, there, so perfect. Even with the changes I had to make (frozen spinach, curry instead of garam masala, no cilantro) it is fabulous. Eating it over rice and with naan bread for lunch the next few days. But I'm going to have to make this again as a dinner for my vegetarian friends. So exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
texture's a bit weird, but it tastes very good. and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Excellant!!Couldn't be better.My all family just loved it.Got a make it another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States