Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Looks great, but lacking in flavor. Maybe more spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
The recipe is really, REALLY good. Dh loved it and asked me to make it again. The reason for the 4 is because it is a bit bland as written. I ended up doubling the garam masala, adding red pepper flakes and salting to taste. After the changes it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good! Although I doubled the spices since I prefer a spicier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good. I equate it to the indian buffet lentils down the street which I am always craving. I wonder if you could slow cook all the ingredients except the yogurt? My husband went for seconds even though he was stuffed which is always a good sign. I added extra chile powder and it was a little too spicy- so I would stick to the proportions as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i added a bit extra of every spice. and also the garlic and ginger ( in my book, you can double and triple the garlic and ginger in every recipe, i love it! big chunks too!) and i only had cans of kidney beans around, and i thought that didnt sound that good, so i added cans of corn. it was flipping delicious! fast and easy too. i also topped it with some feta cheese. that always makes it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I took one person's advice and added brown sugar to the tomato/yogurt sauce. I also added quite a few shakes of salt. The end result was delicious, and light, and tasted perfect with some warm naan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andimodo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Man, best curry dish I've ever had - it was deeeeelicious! Only mod was to use yellow lentils out of a can and Garam Tikka instead of Garam Marsala, (all I could find in store). Served on white rice...nice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. I left out the beans as I thought the lentils were enough. I do agree with the other posters that it's a bit bland. That can be fixed by either adding more onions or more spices. The next time I'll double the onions and add some cumin seed to them while frying. Also, many years ago an Indian friend told me that the secret to Indian food is frying the onions until they are a deep, golden brown and THEN adding the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I followed a few of the changes that other people suggested. I added coconut milk and a teaspoon of brown sugar. I only had frozen spinach but it turned out better than anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good. I misread the recipe and used 1 TABLESPOON of garam masala. Also used 1/2 tsp more cumin and a little cayenne. Used coconut milk instead of yogurt, as we have a dairy and soy allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States