Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Like the other users, I didn't include the extra beans...turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
a bit bland too thick for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Needed more masala in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've been making this recipe almost every other week since I discovered it 5 months ago. Fantastic! I actually use ~7 cups of baby spinach, 3 or 4 tomatoes (and extra tomato puree), a whole bunch of cilantro, LOTS of fresh ginger, and cannelini beans. The result - when combined with naan - makes plenty for 2 nights for my husband and me. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My husband and I didn't care for this at all. The cumin flavor is overpowering and there wasn't enough complexity in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good, easy dish. I just added the onion, garlic, and ginger to the lentils as the lentils simmered. I agree that it needs more spice. I added ~1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and another tsp of cumin. Used 10 oz. of frozen collard greens instead of spinach which added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was really good. I did add more of the spices because the lentils seemed to steal all of the flavor. I also put in more yogurt and tomato puree because we like more sauce. The most shocking part was that my 3 year old (chicken-nugget loving) daughter loved it, and said, "Make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good! Doesn't need extra spices at all if you make the garam masala on this site - it is a mix of 7 or so spices. I did add 2 TB brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups corn. My mother, husband, 14 year old daughter, her 12 year old friend and my 18 month old all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good base, but had to add quite a bit more spice (curry pwdr, cumin, and cayenne pepper for some heat). I also added a heaping tbsp of Madras Curry paste. After all that it was very yummy! NOTE: Played havoc on the digestion for some reason....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We love Indian food but I haven't attempted too many recipes at home. This was easy and it came out great after I doubled the garam masala, used dried cilantro and skipped the mixed beans. Served it over brown rice for a complete meal. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States