Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was a really good and healthy recipe. I didnt add the oil but it came out fine. I also added some corn into the mix that gave a nice sweetness in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaCh L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was really excellent and definitely way more than 4 servings. I couldn't find "canned mixed beans," so I made my own mixture of black, pinto, dark red kidney and garbanzo beans. I also substituted fat free yogurt. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I was concerned about this not being saucy or spicy enough so I doubled both the spices and sauce. I changed this alot but was satisfied with my changes. These were my changes: I used brown lentils, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 8 oz sourcream instead of yogurt, 2 teaspoons curry powder instead of turmeric and cumin, 1 tsp chile powder, 4 cloves garlic, 14 oz can diced tomatoes instead of two fresh, no cilantro, ans 1 can pinto beans. Everything else stayed the same. It turned out great--anthough I made many changes. Served with rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
4.5 actually. I had to add more of the spices but it was very good. I used chickpeas instead of mixed beans. The best curry I have made at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe is a good idea, but was definitely very bland and I had to add lots more spices and fresh chili. I am going to have to play with extensively to make a keeper out of it. It is also not at all saucy and my family likes saucy rich curries. I suggest a can of chopped peeled tomatoes and their juice instead of the puree and the fresh tomatoes for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is pretty good but needs some work. I tripled the spices, doubled the garlic, and used tomato paste with about a cup or two of water instead of the tomato puree. When all the ingrediants were mixed, I added a bay leaf and let it simmer about 30 minutes to combine the flavors better. I also through in about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes and lots of salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I wasn't sure I'd like this, but it was delicious with some nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
To me and my husband (who is a fan of curry), were really disappointed. It didn't have much flavour. I will try again and maybe double the spices??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
WOW! Surprisingly good. A very very mild, subtle curry more like a dahl (is that the term?) Great over rice (white or brown). My sons want a bit more 'kick' to it, so I may add a bit more regular curry spice to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I found that this recipe isn't saucy enough for me, so I double the sauce. Otherwise, it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States