Spinach, Red Lentil, and Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is wonderful. I took a few suggestions from others by adding some cayanne and lime juice, I also added a little broth as mine seemed a little dry. It was a hit with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I doubled the spices and still found it bland and tasteless. Disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
So tasty and came together faster than I thought it would. Omitted yogurt, added fresh tomato and doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
My whole family loved this, even the 5 and 7 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes, and I've been making it for more than 5 years. Healthy, easy, and REALLY GOOD. I usually use 1 cup of greek yogurt, which is more than it calls for, and for the beans I use 1 can of red kidney beans, and 1 can of cannellini beans. I usually throw in larger quantities of the garlic and spices too. It works well with green lentils, but has a different consistency and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I LOVE dal at Indian restaurants and this is kind of similar. I adjusted the spices to suit our taste (doubled the spices and added 1tsp curry powder). I added 1 chicken bullion cube to the boiling lentils and forgot to add the spinach and it was still great! An Indian friend taught me to add whole cumin to the skillet while cooking the onions--it really gives an authentic flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this meal. After I started cooking, I realized I didn't have any yogurt, so I just used some sour cream instead. Also after reading some of the other reviews and seeing some people thought it could do with more flavor, I added A bouillon cube to the mix while it was cooking. Overall it tasted really healthy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
It's not spicy, but I thought the flavor was great. Not every dish needs to be spicy. I used Tandoori Masala instead, and 6 oz of frozen cut spinach. Next time I might use more spinach since I love it so much. It's fantastic with warmed naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a really good hearty vegetarian meal. I cut down the lentils to about 3/4 cup, used vanilla yogurt because it was all I had, double garlic, double spice, a little salt and added water to thin out the consistency. It's quite thick. I ate it on top of a piece of garlic naan and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
For those here who say the recipe was dry or bland, the trick is to reduce the added carbs. I used only about 1/3 c lentils and 1/2 can of garbanzo beans, then served the curry over brown rice, and it was exquisite! The tanginess of the tomatoes together with the yogurt really made it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States