Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Good recipe! I made recipe with slight changes (used chive cottage cheese and bread crumbs for topping instead of croutons). I drained the spinach before mixing with the other ingredients and added a little bit of milk because it was a stiff mixture. The cottage cheese flavor blended well with the quiche. It is a pretty easy quiche recipe and I will probably make it again, but perhaps with broccoli or other vegetables for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fabulous recipe and a nice change from the mozzarella and ricotta spinach quiche recipe I usually prepare. After reading other reviews I decided to saute the green onions and a couple of cloves of garlic and then added the drained spinach and continued to saute. I added the rest of the ingredients with a bit of salt and pepper and baked. I did make a lowfat version though. I used low fat cottage cheese; low fat sharp cheddar, and egg substitutes. It drastically changed the nutritional facts. Calories: 130; Total Fat: 4.3g; Total Carbs: 4.5g; Protein: 18g. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I only slightly changed this. I used 1 cup each of cottage cheese, cheddar and mozzarella. I added some nutmeg (1/2 tsp.) and a few cloves of garlic. Switched out the croutons of a mixture of panko and Parmesan cheese. If I were to make this again I'd add something more to the filling, it was lacking something to make it have a "full" flavour. Also, I'd leave off the topping as it didn't add anything. It tasted good, but it was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Really enjoyed this quiche but I think without some changes it would have been a bit bland. I followed the advice of others and added 2 cloves garlic and onion to the pan before added the spinach. About 3 pieces of turkey bacon, a pinch of seasoned salt and some fresh ground pepper did the trick. I also substituted low-fat cottage cheese and used sharp cheddar. This allowed me to use a half cup less of cheese and my quiche was still bubbling over so if it looks too full - it probably is, next time I will make some mini quiches in a muffin pan with the extra filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I always add a little fresh garlic and stick it in a crust, and get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Substitute a bag of fresh spinach, microwaving for 2 minutes and squeezing liquid out. This is simple and fabulous. It is a weekend regular in our home. I bake for 15 minutes at 375 and 45 minutes at 350. Love that it just doesn't need the crust and all the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
SO good! Took a few more minutes in the oven than stated, but came out divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! :) My family loved it, and so did I! The richness of the quiche is absolutely delectable. The only thing that I changed was someone else's suggestion, which was to add grated parmesan cheese in with the bread crumbs. I used Italian bread crumbs and added other spices, too - lots and lots of garlic, too! I highly reccomend this! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I did not miss the crust at all in this quiche. I found this recipe to use up some spinach I had defrosting in the fridge. I was out of green onion and subbed 1/4 cup of very small chopped onion. I am actually glad for the replacement as they were very mild tasting unlike green onions. I just cooked the onion with the spinach on medium to soften slightly. I used 2% low fat cottage cheese and it worked fine along with reduced fat cheddar. I didn't understand the point of putting croutons on top of a basically set quiche, or why, so I left them out. I poured the batter into a 9" cake pan, well sprayed with pan spray, as I was afraid of it not fitting in the regular pie pans I had. It cut into 8 triangle wedges just fine. The only downside is I thought it had a lot of cheese. Tastewise that is no problem, but we have to watch saturated fat in my home. I wasn't sure if cutting it back a bit would affect the quiche from thickening. It was still a bit healthier, I guess, than the traditional ones with the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States