Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Being a poor college student I don't have an oven and all I had was a skillet. I was hankering for a quiche so I looked at the tons of bags of frozen spinach I still had and decided I could make a pure crustless quiche in that skillet and boy oh boy was it very very tasty. I first sauteed half an onion (NOT AN OPTION FOLKS!) I then used requezon (spanish ricotta) and then some colby and cheddar and some slices of bread (yes bread) and it came out absolutely fabulous! People would call me crazy for not baking quiche but I'll be honest and say that it tastes absolutely wonderful either way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This turned out awesome! We loved it. I made it exactly as written, except I went ahead and used all of the green onion, not just the white parts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This has been a hit with family and guests at two luncheons. I use 3 green onions (not a bunch) so that the flavor doesn't overpower. I took the advice of another reviewer to mix up the cheese: instead of cottage cheese I use 16 oz of low fat ricotta; for the 2 cups of additional cheese I use smoked gouda, strong cheddar and mozzarella. The gouda not only adds a yummy complexity, it creates a hunger-inducing scent in the kitchen! Finally, instead of croutons, try panko -- very crunchy and you won't miss the crust at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this with crushed saltines instead of croutons, and a clove of garlic in place of the green onions(what I had on hand). It was very good- the only thing I'd note about it is that it's not very eggy like I would have expected from a quiche. If you love a really cheesy quiche, though, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made a lot of changes. Truly what I prepared is a cross between this, the recipe for bacon cheese frittata and my own creation. I not only made the changes based on my personal tastes, but also to use up ingredients. I drained the chopped spinach using the fantastic tip provided by another user who advised the use of a potato ricer. Worked great! I heated the spinach in the microwave with about 1 T of butter. I chopped 2 green onions, light portions only, 2 Roma tomatoes, a handful of drained marinated artichoke hearts and 6 peppadews. I cooked 12 slices of bacon, crumbled it and reserved half for the top. Into the bowl with the above ingredients, I also added 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese, about a cup each of cream cheese and sour cream (I didn't have cottage cheese) and 1 cup heavy cream. Stirred and added salt and pepper to taste. I beat 8 (to finish carton) eggs and then added those. Poured this into my baking dish, which I placed on top of a cookie sheet because I was afraid it would spill. Baked about 30 minutes at 350. Added a mix of more shredded cheddar, crushed Ritz crackers and the reserved bacon to the top. Before returning to the oven, I put tin foil around the edges so it wouldn't overcook. I also lowered the temp to 325 and baked another 10 or so minutes until just done. Let set for about 15 minutes. This was my first quiche/frittatta and not only was it lovely, but it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely loved it and my husband said that it was the best quiche he ever had. I did drain the liquid off of the cottage cheese and the spinach the second time i made it and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Like this quiche. Somewhat bland, but good. I think I would add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! I omitted the onions (not a big fan) and forgot the topping. Many of my guests went back for seconds and raved how much they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Good recipe! I made recipe with slight changes (used chive cottage cheese and bread crumbs for topping instead of croutons). I drained the spinach before mixing with the other ingredients and added a little bit of milk because it was a stiff mixture. The cottage cheese flavor blended well with the quiche. It is a pretty easy quiche recipe and I will probably make it again, but perhaps with broccoli or other vegetables for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fabulous recipe and a nice change from the mozzarella and ricotta spinach quiche recipe I usually prepare. After reading other reviews I decided to saute the green onions and a couple of cloves of garlic and then added the drained spinach and continued to saute. I added the rest of the ingredients with a bit of salt and pepper and baked. I did make a lowfat version though. I used low fat cottage cheese; low fat sharp cheddar, and egg substitutes. It drastically changed the nutritional facts. Calories: 130; Total Fat: 4.3g; Total Carbs: 4.5g; Protein: 18g. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States