Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I did not miss the crust at all in this quiche. I found this recipe to use up some spinach I had defrosting in the fridge. I was out of green onion and subbed 1/4 cup of very small chopped onion. I am actually glad for the replacement as they were very mild tasting unlike green onions. I just cooked the onion with the spinach on medium to soften slightly. I used 2% low fat cottage cheese and it worked fine along with reduced fat cheddar. I didn't understand the point of putting croutons on top of a basically set quiche, or why, so I left them out. I poured the batter into a 9" cake pan, well sprayed with pan spray, as I was afraid of it not fitting in the regular pie pans I had. It cut into 8 triangle wedges just fine. The only downside is I thought it had a lot of cheese. Tastewise that is no problem, but we have to watch saturated fat in my home. I wasn't sure if cutting it back a bit would affect the quiche from thickening. It was still a bit healthier, I guess, than the traditional ones with the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great way to make a low-carb quiche! My picky husband liked it a lot, and I ate the leftovers for the next three days. If anything, they tasted better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I don't even like quiche, but I decided to give this a try and I am glad I did!! What I did was used regular minced onion and sauted it in some olive oil and minced garlic, then added it to the cooked spinach. I didn't use croutons but Italian breadcrumbs. Before baking, I also put sliced fresh tomatoes on top. The tomatoes added such a great flavor that next time I think I will use another reviewer's suggestion and add some sun ripened tomatoes in the actual quiche itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made it as written and with artichoke hearts and garlic added, both were delish. I did use panko bread crumbs instead of the croutons, because of what I had on hand, a lighter option but I don't think they made a significant taste/texture difference. Going forward I'll keep the change/addition of the panko and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I modified the recipe a bit to make it a bit healthier; used 2 eggs and 4 egg whites instead of 4 eggs, I used low fat cottage cheese and only 1 cup of low fat cheddar. Its very tasty, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I added a yellow squash and a mushroom and replaced the croutons for 4 cheese triskets.....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was fabuous! I took a few suggestions made by reviewers, and made the following edits: substituted one small white onion, chopped, for the green onion; added one clove of minced garlic. Cooked these in a skillet with a bit of olive oil before adding the spinach in. I had fresh spinach from the farmer's market to use up, so substituted the fresh for frozen. I was short a few oz. on the cottage cheese, so added a splash of cream. Also added about 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and fresh ground Italian seasonings. Used one cup cheddar and one cup mixed mozzarella/parmigiano reggiano. Used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs mixed with a bit of grated parm for the topping. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good in a pinch....I really did miss the crust though. I added a clove of garlic and 1/4 cup of yellow onion. I only put in 1.5 cups of cheese. I topped with seasoned bread crumbs instead of croutons. I also used fresh spinach & mushrooms. I thought it needed some sort of seasoning, but not sure what. I put this in a small casserole dish. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
So good! I used fresh spinach and I think it worked just as well- just sauteed with a little garlic and olive oil. I think next time I will cut the cheddar down- it seemed plenty cheesey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States