Spinach Pumpkin Swirl Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
This pie is a wonderful treat- looks amazing and tastes delish. I used a chunk of pumpkin instead of butternut squash. I also put it in 2 pie shells when I made it for Thanksgiving. (It was too much filling for just one). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I usually like veggie dishes, and like to try new and different recipes, but this just wasn't yummy. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I thought this was pretty tasty, although I would perhaps have preferred it with a little less brown sugar. I would call the texture more of a souffle than a quiche, though. (Not a complaint - just a comment.) I did think that perhaps it was a little more time-consuming to make than it was worth. I'm not sure I'd make it again, although I would certainly eat it again if someone else made it. I did like the green and orange marbling, it was very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is good but I agree with the other rater that it is more like a souffle. It almost seems more appropriate as a dessert instead of a main dish quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
It was tasty but not a quiche and not a meal. More like a thanksgiving side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
we love this recipe. I skip the brown sugar and the sweet potato, although now that sweet potatos are in season I will try it, but I will still leave out the sugar. I also add walnuts and up the salt to 1tsp because I use sea salt. I don't ususaly swirl the contents, but keep it layered. I buy large butternut squash and freeze the mixture to make it all winter long. I sometimes substitute sour cream or Greek yogurt for the cream, depending on what ingredients I already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Not sure how to rate this dish since I made some major changes to the recipe. I wanted something more savory than sweet and went with a previous reviewer's suggestion of leaving out the sugar. In addition, I added more cumin, salt and some cayenne pepper to bring out some savory flavors. I also put it in a pie crust. I liked the resulting pie but concure with others that this isn't a quiche at all. Also, next time I'll mix the two layers together since I wasn't wild about how the textures contrasted when they were divided. Good base though from which to start. Perfect for autumn! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Good, this is like nothing I have ever made before. I added ground up garbanzos instead of the bread crumbs to the spinach layer. I think it would be even better if you spread it on a cookie sheet so that it could get crispy. This is so colorful, it is amazing to think that it is completely natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The reaction was split in our house. I liked it but most thought is should have a crust... I will do it again but with a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This quiche was extraordinary! I used a pre-made frozen organic spelt pie crust, I used two packets of stevia instead of the brown sugar because we are trying to cut down on sugar, I used one medium yam which I microwaved and then mashed in with a can of organic pumpkin and I used garam masala seasoning which basically has everything you need except the curry. I used raw whole milk but I might try coconut milk next time. It is the best quiche I have ever made! I also used about half the spinach. Really divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States