Spinach Pumpkin Swirl Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
This pie is a wonderful treat- looks amazing and tastes delish. I used a chunk of pumpkin instead of butternut squash. I also put it in 2 pie shells when I made it for Thanksgiving. (It was too much filling for just one). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
we love this recipe. I skip the brown sugar and the sweet potato, although now that sweet potatos are in season I will try it, but I will still leave out the sugar. I also add walnuts and up the salt to 1tsp because I use sea salt. I don't ususaly swirl the contents, but keep it layered. I buy large butternut squash and freeze the mixture to make it all winter long. I sometimes substitute sour cream or Greek yogurt for the cream, depending on what ingredients I already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I thought this was pretty tasty, although I would perhaps have preferred it with a little less brown sugar. I would call the texture more of a souffle than a quiche, though. (Not a complaint - just a comment.) I did think that perhaps it was a little more time-consuming to make than it was worth. I'm not sure I'd make it again, although I would certainly eat it again if someone else made it. I did like the green and orange marbling, it was very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I usually like veggie dishes, and like to try new and different recipes, but this just wasn't yummy. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is good but I agree with the other rater that it is more like a souffle. It almost seems more appropriate as a dessert instead of a main dish quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This quiche was extraordinary! I used a pre-made frozen organic spelt pie crust, I used two packets of stevia instead of the brown sugar because we are trying to cut down on sugar, I used one medium yam which I microwaved and then mashed in with a can of organic pumpkin and I used garam masala seasoning which basically has everything you need except the curry. I used raw whole milk but I might try coconut milk next time. It is the best quiche I have ever made! I also used about half the spinach. Really divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The reaction was split in our house. I liked it but most thought is should have a crust... I will do it again but with a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Good, this is like nothing I have ever made before. I added ground up garbanzos instead of the bread crumbs to the spinach layer. I think it would be even better if you spread it on a cookie sheet so that it could get crispy. This is so colorful, it is amazing to think that it is completely natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Not sure how to rate this dish since I made some major changes to the recipe. I wanted something more savory than sweet and went with a previous reviewer's suggestion of leaving out the sugar. In addition, I added more cumin, salt and some cayenne pepper to bring out some savory flavors. I also put it in a pie crust. I liked the resulting pie but concure with others that this isn't a quiche at all. Also, next time I'll mix the two layers together since I wasn't wild about how the textures contrasted when they were divided. Good base though from which to start. Perfect for autumn! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
It was tasty but not a quiche and not a meal. More like a thanksgiving side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States