Spinach Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
These are great, espeically as a vegetarian option for a hot appetizer. One suggestion: after rolling spinach and dough up, put it in the freezer for 15 minutes, or refrigerate for as long as you like, they are much easier to cut that way. I also put extra cheese spread on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I've been making these as party appetizers for a few years now. I use fresh baby spinach and the light alouette garlic and herb cheese spread. Sometimes, I put in a few very thin slices of virginia baked ham from the deli as well. They are always a hit. I appreciate the idea to refrigerate them before slicing. I've always found them hard to slice, but I'd never thought of that. Thanks for the suggestion- I'll try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMellie
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Great idea! I modified it a bit... sauteed diced ham, onion, and mushrooms in olive oil, then added to half of spinach mixture before placing on crescent roll dough. I also added some shredded cheese to the mixture, plus some oregano & ground black pepper. I made "mini" pinwheels, then topped with swiss cheese before baking. Had to bake an extra 5-6 minutes to get them cooked through and golden brown, but they were great! Especially good served with a creamy dressing/dip, like Ranch, dill, or Caesar. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is a very easy and tasty appetizer. Definitely put the dough back in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes for easier slicing. Next time a will use more of the cheese spread and might even stir the spinach into it before spreading. I will make these many more times I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
these pinwheels are easy & delicious! i made a half recipe for new years day using one package crescent rolls, a 4 oz. package of boursin's lite herb cheese spread & almost the whole 10 oz. package of spinach. as recommended by other reviewers, i chilled the roll for easier slicing. i also put the pinwheels under the broiler during the last minute to make them golden brown. thanks bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
These were ok I had trouble with the insides cooking, maybe I had too much filling but the outsides were close to burning before the inside dough was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was really good! easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy to make. Great appitizer. I used fresh chopped spinach. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by **JD**
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Tried these over the weekend and they were VERY good. Everyone loved them. Personally, I thought they needed a little bit more flavor. Even though I used the garlic and herb spread I think it needed more garlic/salt to make it tastier. Also used garlic butter crecent rolls. I love the way they smell while cooking. I mixed the spinache and cheese together and then spread on dough. ABSOLUTELY need to put in the freezer for a little while in order to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **JD**

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
3 simple ingredients with great results! Even when they're messy to cut, they still end up looking pretty decent and tasting wonderful. I used Alouette spread and the seamless crescent roll dough. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States