Spinach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Wow. Exactly as advertised, this is a super easy home version of one of my greek restaurant favorites! I made mine with some diced chicken breast instead of poultry seasoning to make it more of a meal than a side. The only thing I thought this recipe fell short on was the topping. I was not a fan of the bread crumbs as a substitute for filo, although it was way easier. I think next time I might try puff pastry instead... kind of like a greek style chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
So yummy! Made a few changes- saute'd onions in some olive oil, then threw in the spinach and cooked them for about 3 min's. Then I added feta and instead of cottage cheese, I used a dollop of creme fraiche. I let everything cook together in the pan for a couple of minutes, then placed it in the casserole dish. I omitted the butter and just sprinkled breadcrumbs on top and baked it for about 10 min's. Unbelievably tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslolaramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Loved this. Followed the recipe except added sliced tomatoes to half. Also, made one in a pie crust and one without. Great both ways, but loved the one with the crust more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I'm sorry but we didn't enjoy this at all. The onions over powered the entire dish. I may make it once more and omit the onions and add 5 eggs to help hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Super easy! Very tasty. Went together in no time. Great for a hearty cold night supper. Added a salad and made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
mmmm this is so delicious! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the poultry seasoning. It doesn't need it. I also added an egg. It tastes just like spanikopita and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
not for us. used garlic and an egg as suggested, but still...did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I absolutely LOVED this. Wow! Such a keeper. I added 3 eggs, cut the feta to ~1/2 cup. Cut the bread crumbs and butter by half. So delicious! I will be making this very often. Great served hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is an excellent and easy recipe. I used about 4-5 eggs, and instead of breadcrumbs (I was out) I used crumbled pita chips, YUMMY! Went with reviewers suggestions and only added dill, oregano, black pepper and 2 crushed garlic cloves. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
well worth making, like others I halved the amount of spinach, and used frozen spinach well drained and then placed on a warm pan to dry a little more not so hot it wilts cooks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States